Federer Wins record Fourth Successive Laureus Award


St Petersburg, Feb 19: World tennis number one Roger Federer won the prestigious Laureus Sportsman of the Year award for a record fourth year in a row on Monday.

Fellow tennis number one Justine Henin was named the best Sportswoman for the first time, ahead of last year's winner, world and Olympic pole vault champion Yelena Isinbayeva.

Lewis Hamilton took the Breakthrough of the Year award for his remarkable debut season in Formula One, while a fellow Briton, long-distance runner Paula Radcliffe, was named the Comeback Athlete of the Year.

Rugby world champions South Africa won the Team of the Year award.

The winners were announced at a gala ceremony attended by Russian President Vladimir Putin at St Petersburg's famous Mariinsky Theatre.


Top Stories

Leave a Comment

Title: Federer Wins record Fourth Successive Laureus Award

You have 2000 characters left.


Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. Daijiworld.com will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that sending false messages to insult, defame, intimidate, mislead or deceive people or to intentionally cause public disorder is punishable under law. It is obligatory on Daijiworld to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using daijiworld will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will Daijiworld.com be held responsible.