Udupi: Adani UPCL honoured with Power Awards

Media Release

Udupi, Oct 30: Adani owned Udupi Power Corporation Limited company, which operates thermal power plant at Yellur, was awarded Power Award 2017 by government of Karnataka on Ocotober 28 at Palace Ground in Bengaluru.

Vneet S Jaain, chief executive officer of Adani Power received the award on behalf of UPCL.

Siddaramaiah, chief minister and D K Shivakumar, energy minister, government of Karnataka, handed over the Power Award 2017 in the event organised by department of Energy in association with PCKL, KPTCL, BESCOM, CESCOM, MESCOM, GESCOM, HESCOM, KPCL and KREDL

Congratulating Adani UPCL, D K Shivakumar, appreciated the contributions by UPCL, meeting almost 12% of total power requirement of  Karnataka. He reiterated the State Government’s commitment towards thermal projects, and expansion projects of existing power plants like UPCL, and promised the government’s support in the expansion of these projects.  

Informing the vision of Karnataka, with 18000 MW, he said that the state would be self-sufficient in meeting the power requirement. He welcomed UPCL’s contribution to the state of 2,400 MW with the existing plant and the expansion project. He also informed that the availability of existing infrastructure was also facilitating UPCL's expansion.

Receiving the Power Awards 2017, Vneet Jaain expressed happiness and thanked the Karnataka government for recognising the contribution of Adani UPCL in the field of energy in the state.  He informed, "UPCL is continuously supplying power to the state and meeting major requirements even during peak load periods. The contribution of UPCL to the state will increase with the expansion of the project from 1,200 MW to 2,400 MW. The UPCL, under its CSR programme, is also executing many village development activities in the surrounding villages in a broader manner and has created history in the field of CSR activities." He also thanked the villagers, grama panchayat leaders, and local leaders for their support towards the UPCL project.

Kishore Alva, joint president of Adani UPCL, also thanked Karnataka government for selecting UPCL for the Power Awards and appreciated the support extend by the locals in making the UPCL plant a model power plant.

Roshan Baig, minister for Urban Development, presided over the function, K J Goerge, minister for Bangaluru Development and Town Planning, R Ramalinga Reddy, minister for home, T B Jayachandra, minister for law and justice, parliamentary affairs, M B Patil, major and medium irrigation minister, H Anjaneya, minister for social welfare and backward class, M R Seetharam, minister for planning and statistics, DK, Suresh, member of parliament, and MK Shankarlinge Gowda, chairman of KERC, were guests of honour.  

P Ravi Kumar, additional chief secretary, department of Energy, Jawaid Akhtar, MD of KPTCL, Rajendra Cholan, MD of BESCOM, Kumar Naik, MD of KPCL, Balaram, MD of KREDL, MDs of HESCOM, GESCOM, HESCOM and MESCOM were present on the occasion.


Top Stories

Leave a Comment

Title: Udupi: Adani UPCL honoured with Power Awards

You have 2000 characters left.


Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. Daijiworld.com will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that sending false messages to insult, defame, intimidate, mislead or deceive people or to intentionally cause public disorder is punishable under law. It is obligatory on Daijiworld to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using daijiworld will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will Daijiworld.com be held responsible.