Live Cricket Score : Warm up Match - India Vs Pakistan T20I ICC World Cup

Ind vs Pak: Pakistan beat India by five wickets in World Twenty20 warm-up match

NEW DELHI, Sep 17 (TOI) : Kamran Akmal and Shoaib Malik added an unbeaten 95 runs stand to power Pakistan to a convincing five-wicket victory over India in the World Twenty20 warm-up match against India at R Premadasa Stadium.

Ravichandran Ashwin dismissed Mohammad Hafeez and Shahid Afridi in one over to dent Pakistan chase. Ashwin struck again in his next over to scalp Umar Akmal and left Pakistan reeling at 91/5 in 11.3 overs.

Kamran Akmal and Mohammad Hafeez added 51 runs in 34 balls stand for the third wicket to lead Pakistan chase. India dismissed Imran Nazir and Nasir Jamshed in quick succession to rock Pakistan chase.

Ravichandran Ashwin struck in his first over of the innings, removing Imran Nazir to give India crucial breakthrough after Pakistan started off well in their innings. Pakistan suffered another blow just two balls later when Jamshed got run-out without facing a delivery.

Earlier, Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma played cracked of an innings to help India post a mammoth 186 run target for Pakistan.

Kohli remained unbeaten on 75 off 47 balls, smashing seven fours and two sixes to power to big total against the arch-rivals.

Saeed Ajmal did the trick again, giving Pakistan a much need breakthrough by removing Sharma, who played magnificent knock 56 0ff 40 balls, smacking six fours and two huge sixes.

The pair also added an unbeaten 127 runs stand for the third wicket, hammering Pakistan bowlers all over the park to put India in commanding position.

Kohli, who has recently been named the ICC ODI cricketer of the Year, took 34 balls for his scintillating half century that included six boundaries.

India lost Gautam Gambhir and Virender Sehwag in successive overs after the Delhi duo gave blistering start with a 41 in just 4.4 overs.

India lost their first wicket when Gautam Gambhir edged a Umar Gul delivery onto his stumps.

Gambhir hit 2 fours in his 16-ball 10.

Saeed Ajmal struck in the next over when he had Sehwag caught by Shahid Afridi at backward point.

Sehwag hit a six and 4 fours in his 14-ball 26.

The breakthroughs for Pakistan came after Indian captain MS Dhoni won the toss and chose to bat.

Their tails up after an easy outing against hosts Sri Lanka, India would like to keep the winning momentum going.

From India's perspective, things are going in the right direction at the moment and they come into this 'crucial' warm-up with plenty of confidence under their belt.


India: MS Dhoni (Capt.), Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Irfan Pathan, Zaheer Khan, Lakshmipathy Balaji, R Ashwin.

Pakistan: Mohammad Hafeez (Capt.), Shahid Afridi, Imran Nazir, Umar Akmal, Kamran Akmal, Shoaib Malik, Nasir Jamshed, Umar Gul, Saeed Ajmal, Sohail Tanvir, Mohammad Sami.



Top Stories

Leave a Comment

Title: Live Cricket Score : Warm up Match - India Vs Pakistan T20I ICC World Cup

You have 2000 characters left.


Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that sending false messages to insult, defame, intimidate, mislead or deceive people or to intentionally cause public disorder is punishable under law. It is obligatory on Daijiworld to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using daijiworld will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will be held responsible.