Pietersen Not Named in World T20 Squad

London, Aug 21 (IBNS): Flamboyant English batsman Kevin Pietersen has not been named in the England's ICC World Twenty20 quad on Tuesday.

England selectors on Tuesday named a 15-man England squad and a 14-player England women's party for the ICC World Twenty20 to be played in Sri Lanka next month, the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) said in a statement.

Stuart Broad will lead a side looking to retain the ICC World T20 beginning on September 21 against Afghanistan. Eight members of the squad were involved in the 2010 victory and all members of the squad have previously represented England in the 20-over format.

National selector Geoff Miller said: "We are very much looking forward to beginning the defence of our World T20 title next month. We know that it will take exceptional cricket to retain the trophy and that begins with the first match against Afghanistan.

“This is a very balanced squad combining experienced players with some exciting young talent who have done well at both international and domestic level this season and who are all very excited by the challenges ahead in Sri Lanka."

The England women's squad that dominated India in two NatWest Women's T20 matches in June sees just one change, as pace bowler Anya Shrubsole returns in place of fellow seamer Georgia Elwiss.

Head of England Women's Cricket Clare Connor said: "Once again there has been serious competition for a place in the England women's squad ahead of the second half of their international summer.

“After two NatWest International T20 matches against Pakistan and then five against the West Indies, the squad will fly to Sri Lanka for the ICC World Twenty20 with excellent preparation under their belts. England's international T20 record over the past year has been almost without blemish and confidence is high for the World Twenty20 campaign.

“A joint event with the men, this tournament provides the greatest opportunity to drive the profile of women's cricket globally and the players are excited about playing their part in the fight to regain the trophy."

England squad for ICC World Twenty20:

Stuart Broad (Captain, Nottinghamshire)
Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire)
Ravi Bopara (Essex)
Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire)
Danny Briggs (Hampshire)
Jos Buttler (Somerset)
Jade Dernbach (Surrey)
Steven Finn (Middlesex)
Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire)
Craig Kieswetter (Somerset)
Michael Lumb (Nottinghamshire)
Eoin Morgan (Middlesex)
Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire)
Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire)
Luke Wright (Sussex)

England women's squad for ICC World Twenty20:

Selectors have made one change to the England's women's squad that beat India, with Anya Shrubsole replacing Georgia Elwiss.

Charlotte Edwards (Captain, Kent)
Tammy Beaumont (Kent)
Arran Brindle (Sussex)
Katherine Brunt (Yorkshire)
Holly Colvin (Sussex)
Lydia Greenway (Kent)
Jenny Gunn (Nottinghamshire)
Heather Knight (Berkshire)
Danielle Hazell (Yorkshire)
Laura Marsh (Kent)
Susie Rowe (Kent)
Anya Shrubsole (Somerset)
Sarah Taylor (Sussex)
Danielle Wyatt (Staffordshire)


Top Stories

Leave a Comment

Title: Pietersen Not Named in World T20 Squad

You have 2000 characters left.


Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. Daijiworld.com will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that sending false messages to insult, defame, intimidate, mislead or deceive people or to intentionally cause public disorder is punishable under law. It is obligatory on Daijiworld to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using daijiworld will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will Daijiworld.com be held responsible.