Ruling parties bag Meghalaya, Mizoram RS seats; Manipur result on hold

Imphal/Shillong/Aizawl, Jun 19 (IANS): The candidates of the ruling MNF in Mizoram and Meghalaya Democratic Alliance (MDA) won the sole Rajya Sabha seat in the state, while the process in Manipur was withheld by the Election Commission, election officials said on Friday.

Voting was held for three Rajya Sabha seats in Manipur, Meghalaya and Mizoram on Friday, with a frantic political drama in Imphal, where the equations are altering fast given the changing political situation since Wednesday.

Ruling Bharatiya Janata Party's candidate King Leishemba Sanajaoba and Congress nominee T. Mangibabu are fighting for the lone Rajya Sabha seat in Manipur.

In Meghalaya, Meghalaya Democratic Alliance (MDA) sponsored National People's Party candidate W.R. Kharlukhi won the election, who secured 39 votes, won the election beating Kennedy Khyriem, who bagged 19 votes while one member remained abstained from voting and one vote was rejected.

In Mizoram, in a triangular contest, ruling Mizo National Front (MNF) candidate K. Vanlalvena won the Rajya Sabha seat by securing 27 votes, defeating Zoram Peoples Movement candidate B. Lalchhanzova (7 votes) and Congress nominee Lallianchhunga (5 votes).

In the 40-member Mizoram assembly, lone BJP MLA Buddha Dhan Chakma abstained from voting.

Meanwhile, ruling BJP nominee Nabam Rebia had on June 12 won the lone Rajya Sabha seat in Arunachal Pradesh unopposed.

Rebia, who represented the northeastern state in the Rajya Sabha for two consecutive terms from 1996 to 2002 and 2002 to 2008 as a Congress candidate, was declared winner after the withdrawal of nominations ended on June 12.



Top Stories

Comment on this article

  • smr, Karkala

    Sat, Jun 20 2020

    The speaker who is two time BJP MLA has made laughing stock of democracy of India. The Manipur High Court which banned the seven Congress MLA's from voting for anti party activity in the past. Three MLA's after assuring the speaker they will vote for BJP is allowed enter the parliament is clear violation of the court orders.

    It is time for Congress to appeal against this voting to Election Commission of India and file petition in Supreme Court to challenge this voting.

    Jai Hind

    DisAgree Agree [1] Reply Report Abuse


Title : Ruling parties bag Meghalaya, Mizoram RS seats; Manipur result on hold


You have 2000 characters left.


Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that sending false messages to insult, defame, intimidate, mislead or deceive people or to intentionally cause public disorder is punishable under law. It is obligatory on Daijiworld to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using daijiworld will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will be held responsible.

Security Validation

Enter the characters in the image