Campaign for Karnataka Assembly by-elections peaks

Bengaluru, Dec 3 (IANS): Campaign for by-elections to 15 Assembly segments on December 5 in Karnataka peaked on Monday, with leaders of the three mainstream political parties, including the ruling BJP and their candidates wooing the electorate to vote for them, a poll official said.

"Electioneering gained momentum since Saturday and peaked on Monday as campaign ends on Tuesday evening in all the 15 Assembly constituencies," the official told IANS here.

The by-elections have been necessitated due to the disqualification of the 14 Congress and 3 JD-S) rebel legislators after they resigned from their Assembly seats in mid-July in protest against the former coalition government's poor functioning.

The by-elections will be held in Athani, Kagwad, Gokak, Yellapura, Hirekerur, Ranibennur, Vijaynagara, Chickballapura, K.R. Pura, Yeshwanthpura, Mahalakshmi Layout, Shivajinagara, Hosakote, K.R. Pete and Hunsur.

By-elections in two Assembly segments -- Muski (Raichur district) and R.R. Nagar (Bengaluru) have been withheld due to litigation in the Karnataka High Court over their results in the May 2018 state Assembly elections.

Vote count is on December 9.

"All our state unit leaders, including Chief Minister B.S. Yediyurappa, three Deputy Chief Ministers G.M. Karjol, Ashwath Narayan and Laxman Savadi and dozen cabinet ministers have been campaigning in all the 15 Assembly segments to ensure the victory of our contesting candidates," BJP's state unit spokesman G. Madhusudhan told IANS.

As many as 165 candidates, including 126 Independents and 9 women are in the fray for the 15 Assembly seats.

The BJP and the opposition Congress are contesting in all the 15 Assembly seats, while the JD-S has fielded candidates in 12 seats, which will witness triangular contests.

In three seats -- Athani in Belagavi district, Yellapura in Uttara Kannada district and Hoskote in Bengaluru Rural district, the contest will be straight between the BJP and the Congress.

The BJP has fielded 11 former rebel Congress and 3 former rebel JD-S legislators who joined the party on November 14 after the Supreme Court on November 13 allowed them to re-contest though it upheld their disqualification by former assembly speaker K.R. Ramesh Kumar on July 25 and July 28.

The BJP has fielded its former corporate Sarvana from the prestigious Shivajinagara constituency in Bengaluru central.

For the Congress, its former Chief Minister Siddaramaiah, party's state unit chief Dinesh Gundu Rao and other senior leaders, including Mallikarjun Kharge have been campaigning in all the 15 assembly seats.

JD-S supremo H.D. Deve Gowda and his third son and former chief minister H.D. Kumaraswamy have been leading the campaign with other senior leaders and legislators in the 12 assembly segments it is contesting.

"We are not contesting in three seats to avoid dividing 'secular' votes and ensure the victory of the Congress candidates for political reasons," JD-S general secretary Ramesh Babu told IANS.


Top Stories

Comment on this article

  • Sunil K, Mangalore

    Tue, Dec 3 2019

    No Modi at by-poll campaign; BJP is sure to fail. BJP is losing State after State.

    DisAgree [2] Agree [11] Reply Report Abuse

  • Sangram Sangam, Kundapur

    Tue, Dec 3 2019

    Where is Congress Gaining.........................?
    In Maharashtra also they have in 4th position

    DisAgree [3] Agree [1] Reply Report Abuse

  • Flavian, Mangaluru/Kuwait

    Tue, Dec 3 2019

    Yeddeurappaji, your final journey from politics.
    'Man proposes an God disposes'
    Human beings can make any plans they want, but it's God that decides their success or failure.

    DisAgree [1] Agree [9] Reply Report Abuse

  • Manoj, mangalore

    Tue, Dec 3 2019

    What about Sonia and Rahul...........................?

    DisAgree [6] Agree [2] Reply Report Abuse

  • Jossey Saldanha, Mumbai

    Tue, Dec 3 2019

    Please don't vote for Jumping Jackals ...

    DisAgree [1] Agree [17] Reply Report Abuse

  • Jossey Saldanha, Mumbai

    Tue, Dec 3 2019

    Please Vote only for the Honest ...

    DisAgree [1] Agree [14] Reply Report Abuse

  • j.anata, Mangaluru / Bengaluru

    Tue, Dec 3 2019

    8 seats required for simple majority for BJP is cake walk. They may end up getting more actually
    Wash out for JDS guaranteed.

    DisAgree [12] Agree [2] Reply Report Abuse

  • Jossey Saldanha, Mumbai

    Tue, Dec 3 2019

    No GST for Dreaming ...

    DisAgree [1] Agree Reply Report Abuse

  • nitin, kodagu

    Tue, Dec 3 2019

    those disqualified MLA's assets increased 300 Crores after 2019.
    if you reelec those MLA's public is fool

    DisAgree [1] Agree [15] Reply Report Abuse

  • Francis Lewis, Sastan

    Tue, Dec 3 2019

    We should teach the lesson and once again if you elect and tomorrow they will jump to other Party and then what happens ???

    DisAgree Agree [6] Reply Report Abuse

  • Sangram Sangam, Kundapur

    Tue, Dec 3 2019

    Are you telling this to SIddanna,Srinivas prasad,r v Deshpande ,mahadevappa,cheluvarayaswamy,Ivan,zameer ahmed,Iqbal Ansari, Balakrishna, Ramesh Bandisiddegowda, Bheema Nayak and Akhanda Srinivas Murthy

    DisAgree [3] Agree [1] Reply Report Abuse


Title : Campaign for Karnataka Assembly by-elections peaks


You have 2000 characters left.


Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that sending false messages to insult, defame, intimidate, mislead or deceive people or to intentionally cause public disorder is punishable under law. It is obligatory on Daijiworld to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using daijiworld will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will be held responsible.

Security Validation

Enter the characters in the image