Mangaluru: Konkani Sahitya Academy announces honourary and book awards

Press Release

Mangaluru, Feb 9: Karnataka Konkani Sahitya Academy has announced awards for the year 2018. Six eminent personalities have been selected for this year's awards.

The prizes will be awarded in a programme that will be held at Dandeli on March 9 and 10.

The programme will also be held at Jovid and Harihara. 

The honorary awards for the year 2018 are given to J F D'Souza (Literature), Kudla Anandu Shanbhag (Art) and Vasanth Badekar (Folk). This award carries a cash prize of Rs 50,000.

Book awards for the year 2018 are given to Roshu Bajpe (Poem), Jeyal Manjarapalke (Short stories) and Tara Laveena Fernandis (Novel). This award carries a cash prize of Rs 25,000.


As many 21 applications were received for the awards of 2018. In future the academy has planned awarenss programme with the concept 'Village to Delhi and Delhi to Dubai'. Under this 100 programmes will be organized and some have already begun.

The academy is also planning to publish 100 books on 100 topics with each book consisting of 35 to 60 pages.

R P Naik, president of Karnataka Konkani Sahitya Academy, Chandrahasa Rai B, registrar, Laxman Prabhu, member, Santhosh Shenoy, member and Nagesh were present during the press conference.

Following is a brief description about the awardees of 2018:

J F D'Souza: Honourary award for literature - Joachim Fredrick D'Souza has written children stories and articles under the pen names of J F D'Souza Attavar, Jeffrey Kumar and Jeppu Jeffrey. His epigrams are published in several newspapers and still getting published. More than 5000 articles of J F D'Souza are published in Kannada and English newspapers. In 2007 he is conferred with the title 'Konkani Star' by Konkani associations.

Kudla Anandu Madhukar Shanbhag: Honourary award for art - Kudla Anand Madhukar Shanbhag has created a unique impression of his own in the field of art. He entered the Konkani drama field in 1960. He has directed more than 40 Konkani dramas, which got exhibited in main city festivals. In addition, he has acted in more than 40 dramas written by Hosata Babu T Nayak. His drama 'Haanv Ek Natak Khello' was selected as the national drama by All India Radio (AIR), Dharwad station and got translated in all languages and relayed throughout the country. He was felicitated in the Vishwa Konkani Sammelan that was held in the city in 1995 for his achievement in the field of Konkani art.

Dr Vasanth Bandekar: Honourary award for folk -  In addition to serving the language of Konkani through 'Ek Vyakti' service, Dr Bandekar has collected the Konkani folk art and literature, which is fast getting extinct, in texts, photography, audio and videos. He has trained many young boys and girls on Konkani art and made teams and demonstrated the folk art in various melas.During the period of 2000-2001, when Basti Vaman Shenoy was the president, Bandekar studied various Konkani folk art and toured in various villages for six months. 

Tara Laveena Fernandes: Book award for novel 'Chukulli Metan' - Tara Laveena is a M A, B Ed graduate and works as a teacher in Kinnikambla high school. She is writing Konkani literature under the pen name 'Lavi Ganjimutt'. Laveena entered the literature field by getting her short story 'Vidichi Dhavli' published in 'Amcho Yuvak' magazine. Laveena was awarded the book prize in 2012 for her collection of short stories 'Daskat ani Her Katha' by the Karnataka Konkani Sahitya Academy. 

Roshu Bajpe: Book award for poem 'Teenth Jallen Ragath' - Roshan Melky Sequeira, better known as Roshu Bajpe in the literary field, is a postgraduate holding the degree of M Com. He writes short stories, humour, critics, articles and light essays. His various article and poems, written under his pen name, Roshu Bajpe are published in various Konkani magazines. 'Haasya Attack' and 'Open Haasya Surgery' are his books written on humour. He was conferred with the title 'Yuvakiran' by Samanvaya association.

Jeyal Manjarapalke: Book award for short story 'Chandremanchi Khatam' - Jyoti Lorin D'Silva, who pens Konkani articles under the pen name, Jeyel Manjarapalke is a native of Belman. She has done her M A, B Ed and is working as a teacher in St Mary's school at Kundapur. Her stories are published in various Konkani magazines. She has bagged prizes in several story competitions. Women sensitivity is the prime theme of her stories. Chandremanchi Khatam is her maiden collection of stories published by Srijan Prakashan.


Top Stories

Comment on this article

Leave a Comment

Title : Mangaluru: Konkani Sahitya Academy announces honourary and book awards


You have 2000 characters left.


Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that sending false messages to insult, defame, intimidate, mislead or deceive people or to intentionally cause public disorder is punishable under law. It is obligatory on Daijiworld to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using daijiworld will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will be held responsible.

Security Validation

Enter the characters in the image