Lok Sabha elections – DK records voter turnout of 77.89%, Udupi-Chikkamagaluru 75.8%

Live Updates

Pics: Dayanand Kukkaje/Spoorthi Ullal/Umesh Marpalli/Mohan Kuthar
Daijiworld Media Network 

8.20 pm: The final voter turnout at the end of polling day in Dakshina Kannada district stood at 77.89%, with Beltangady polling 80.92%, Moodbidri 75.96%, Mangaluru North 75.36%, Mangaluru South 69.93%, Mangaluru (Ullal) 75.57%, Bantwal 80.31%, Puttur 82.30%, and Sullia the highest at 84.16%.

In Udupi-Chikkamagaluru, the voter turnout at the end of the day was 75.8%, with Kundapur polling 77%, Udupi 78%, Kaup 77%, Karkala 78%, Sringeri 78%, Mudigere 73%, Chikkamagaluru 69%, and Tarikere 72% (figures rounded).

5.20 pm: By 5 pm, the voter turnout in Dakshina Kannada was 72.30%, with Beltangady recording 75.82%, Moodbidri 71.03%, Mangaluru North 71%, Mangaluru South 65.17%, Mangaluru (Ullal) 60.03%, Bantwal 75.65%, Puttur 77.64%, and Sullia 74.34%.

In Udupi-Chikkamagaluru, the voter turnout as at 5 pm was 65.76%, with Kundapur polling 72.16%, Udupi 73.63%, Kaup 73.32%, Karkala 64%, Sringeri 56.47%, Mudigere 53.30%, Chikkamagaluru 64.16%, and Tarikere 65.61%.

The total turnout in the state by 5 pm was 69.84%.

3.15 pm: The voter turnout in Dakshina Kannada at 3 pm stood at 60.02%, with Beltangady polling 60.57%, Moodbidri 59.02%, Mangaluru North 58.33%, Mangaluru South 54.49, Mangaluru (Ullal) 57.42%, Bantwal 62.05%, Puttur 64.06%, and Sullia 65.04%.

Udupi-Chikkamagaluru polled 54.93% by 3 pm, with Kundapur recording a turnout of 57.53%, Udupi 59.56%, Kaup 60.44%, Karkala 52%, Sringeri 56.55%, Mudigere 53.30%, Chikkamagaluru 51.38% and Tarikere 48.36%. The overall polling recorded in Karnataka so far is 49.26%.

1.20 pm: The polling in Dakshina Kannada has picked up with 48.85 percent voter turnout by 1 pm. Beltangady recorded a polling of 48.36%, Moodbidri 48.55%, Mangaluru North 47.24%, Mangaluru South 43.34%, Mangaluru (Ullal) 45.8%, Bantwal 50.60%, Puttur 51.66% and Sullia highest at 53.13%.

The voter turnout in Udupi district at 1 pm stood at 41%.

The overall turnout in Karnataka so far is 35.3%.

11.20 am - 32.30% voter turnout in Dakshina Kannada and 29% in Udupi at 11 am.

09.48 am - Some booths in Mangaluru did not provide proper facilities for voters that include Infant Mary’s booth. Voters said there was no drinking water, no proper light or shade provided at this booth.

09.25 am -14% voter turnout in Dakshina Kannada and 9.8 % in Udupi at 9 am.

09.20 am - Some booths in Dakshina Kannada have reported EVM complaints that include Talapady booth number 169, Tiruvail Ward Vamanjoor and St Joseph’s Higher Primary School. As per later reports, the complaints were handled within some minutes.

Ullal (Mangaluru constituency)

Tiruvail Ward Vamanjoor 

08:14 am - Doddne villagers in Hanur, Chamarajanagar in Karnataka, boycott pools alleging lack of development and basic facilities.

07:52 am - Voting delayed in Hirisave in Hassan and Doddapalya in Srirangapatna taluk due to problems in EVM machines.

07.07 am - Lok Sabha election - Phase One (in Karnataka) - polling began in 14 constituencies in state. 

Udupi-Chikkamagaluru BJP Shobha Karandlaje

Dakshina Kannada BJP candidate Nalin Kumar Kateel 

Dakshina Kannada Congress candidate Mithun Rai  

Mangaluru South MLA Vedavyasa Kamath

Former MLA J R Lobo 



Mangaluru  and surrounding areas


 Udupi-Chikkamagaluru JD(S) Candidate Pramod Madhwaraj 

Oscar Fernandes


BJP's Bangalore North candidate D V Sadananda Gowda and his family after casting their votes 



Bengaluru, April 18 (IANS) Voting was underway on Thursday in the first phase of polling for Karnataka's 14 Lok Sabha constituencies in the state's central and southern regions amid tight security, an election official said.

"Voting began at 7 a.m. in all the 30,164 booths across the 14 parliamentary seats of the state under tight security," the official told IANS here.

The constituencies where polling is underway are Udupi-Chikmagalur, Hassan, Dakshina Kannada, Chitradurga (SC), Tumkur, Mandya, Mysore, Chamarajnagar (SC), Bangalore Rural, Bangalore North, Bangalore Central, Bangalore South, Chikkaballapur and Kolar (SC).

Of the 2.67-crore electorate in the first phase, 1.35-crore male and 1.32-crore female voters will decide the fate of 241 candidates, including 15 women and 133 Independents.

In all, 52,112 Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) are in use with 36,196 controlling units and 37,705 Voter Verifiable Paper Audit (VVPATs) that allows voters to verify that their vote is cast correctly.

"Over 1.54-lakh personnel are on duty in all the polling stations across the 14 seats with 38,597 police personnel providing security to ensure free and fair polling," said the official.

Of the total booths, 16 per cent or 4,826 of them are considered critical in Bangalore Rural, Hassan, Mandya and Tumkur, additional police have been deployed to maintain and law and order for peaceful voting.

"Five companies of Central Armed Police Forces (CAPF) have also been deployed in sensitive and hyper-sensitive booths across the region," the official added.

Among the constituencies, Bangalore North has the highest number of 31 candidates, followed by 25 in Bangalore South and 22 each in Bangalore Central, Mandya and Mysore.

Lowest number of candidates is six in Hassan, followed by 10 in Chamarajnagar, 12 in Udupi-Chikmagalur and 13 in Dakshina Kannada.

Key constituencies in the first phase are all the three seats in Bangalore, Mandya, Hassan and Tumkur.

Unlike in the past elections, the main parties - Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Congress is locked in straight contests in this election, as the latter has entered into a pre-poll tie-up with the ruling Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) to field joint candidates as part of their seat-sharing arrangements.

Of the 28 Lok Sabha seats in the state, Congress is in fray 21 and seven by JD-S.

Of the 14 seats in the first phase, Congress is in fray from 10 and JD-S from four seats.

Polling in the remaining 14 parliamentary seats in the western and northern regions of the state will be held on April 23.

Vote count for all the 28 seats will be on May 23.


Top Stories

Comment on this article

Leave a Comment

Title: Lok Sabha elections – DK records voter turnout of 77.89%, Udupi-Chikkamagaluru 75.8%

You have 2000 characters left.


Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. Daijiworld.com will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that sending false messages to insult, defame, intimidate, mislead or deceive people or to intentionally cause public disorder is punishable under law. It is obligatory on Daijiworld to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using daijiworld will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will Daijiworld.com be held responsible.