Mumbai: ICL Announces Second Twenty20 Event

Mumbai, Mar 1:
The rebel Indian Cricket League (ICL) will stage its second Twenty20 tournament from March 9 to April 7 with more former internationals.
Heath Streak and Murray Goodwin of Zimbabwe, Wavell Hinds and Tino Best of West Indies, Nic Pothas of South Africa and Avishka Gunawardene of Sri Lanka are among the new players, organisers said on Friday.

Australians Michael Kasprowicz, Damien Martyn and Matthew Elliott signed this week, days after former New Zealand wicketkeeper Adam Parore announced he was to come out of retirement to play in the lucrative league.

The ICL is bankrolled by the controllers of India's largest listed media firm but is not sanctioned by the International Cricket Council (ICC).

The Indian cricket board recently introduced their multi-million dollar Twenty20 tournament, the ICC-sanctioned Indian Premier League, which starts on April 18.

Most national boards have banned players taking part in the unofficial league.

The inaugural ICL Twenty20 was held late last year and featured several former internationals, including Brian Lara of West Indies and Inzamam-ul-Haq of Pakistan.


Top Stories

Leave a Comment

Title: Mumbai: ICL Announces Second Twenty20 Event

You have 2000 characters left.


Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that sending false messages to insult, defame, intimidate, mislead or deceive people or to intentionally cause public disorder is punishable under law. It is obligatory on Daijiworld to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using daijiworld will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will be held responsible.