News headlines

Report by Jane Ida Pinto
Photographs – Dilip Correa
Daijiworld News Network

Muscat, Sep 30: It was an exhibition of great dancing talents of Mangalorean children in Muscat. Every child who participated in the competition had presented an entertaining and enthralling performance to sprinkle joyful delight into the minds of the audience. MCCP’s this year’s unique theme – Amchi Bhurgim Amchi Bhas was the highlight of the competition and Konkani was given full priority to conduct and present the show.

It was Mangalorean Catholic Center of the Ruwi Parish ( MCCP – Muscat)  presented its annual Dance Competition for their members children at Sts Peter and Paul Church Main Hall – Ruwi. The whole competition was greatly successful.

Gulf Air and W. J. Towell & Co. LLC (Building Material Division) were the sponsors for this event. Their representatives Mrs. Loretta Cordeiro of Gulf Air and         Mr. Cyprian Misquith – Finance Manager of W. J. Towell & Co. LLC (Building Material Division) were present during the competition. Clarence Kaikamba, Main Coordinator of Cultural and Spiritual Committees and Suraj Rebello – Main Coordinator of Sports and Finance Committees felicitated the sponsors and offered floral bouquets on behalf of MCCP.

Dilip Correa, well known Konkani activist anchored the competition and commenced the program with a warm and hearty welcome to the audience. Philomena Saldanha offered prayers and Hilda Rasquinha introduced the Judges.  Glenda Rebello, Sandra Quadras and Rohan Gonsalves were the honorable judges for the competition.

Cheerful audience enjoyed whole competition with a perfect attention. Children and their parents had gathered lot of innovative and traditional themes to variety of dances and judges had really tough time to judge the winners.

Public Relations Secretary of MCCP, Ronald Lobo proposed the vote of thanks and Cultural Secretary of MCCP – Ajay Barboza announced the names of the winners.

Group A
First  Melita Fernandes
Second Liza D’Sa

Group B
First  Alston Conrad Moras
Second Ralitsa Correa
Third Bertyl Noronha

Group C
First  Vrinali Sonalika Nazareth
Second Giseile Fernandes
Third Melissa Goveas

Group D
First  Glanet Castelino
Second Amanda Pinto
Third Dean D Souza

Group E
First  Cheryl Fernandes
Second Rhea Fernandes
Third Tanya Pinto


First Melissa Goveas

 Tanya Pinto
 Freya D’ Mello
 Roshni Rodrigues
 Ruweina D’Souza
 Glanet Castelino

Second Brantin Noronha

 Shaun M. Menezes
 Vrinali Nazareth
 Mellissa Janice Nazareth
 Bertyl Noronha
 Alston Conrad Moras
 Dean Chris D’Souza
 Noel Rasquinha

Third Amanda Pinto

 Amanda Lobo
 Denzil Saldanha
 Beverly Quadras
 Steffi Suares
 Rhea Fernandes


Top Stories

Leave a Comment

Title: News headlines

You have 2000 characters left.


Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that sending false messages to insult, defame, intimidate, mislead or deceive people or to intentionally cause public disorder is punishable under law. It is obligatory on Daijiworld to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using daijiworld will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will be held responsible.