K'taka Rajya Sabha polls: Congress wins 3 seats, BJP 1, alliance defeated

Daijiworld Media Network - Bengaluru

Bengaluru, Feb 27: In the recent Rajya Sabha elections in Karnataka, the Congress secured three seats, and the BJP clinched one, reflecting the political dynamics in the state.

The triumphant Congress candidates who emerged victorious in the Upper House elections are Ajay Maken, G.C. Chandrasekhar, and Syed Naseer Hussain. On the other side, the BJP celebrated the success of Narayansa K. Bhandage securing a seat in the Rajya Sabha.

The electoral battleground featured five contenders vying for the available four seats, with D. Kupendra Reddy from JD(S) also participating in the competition.

The elections, however, witnessed instances of cross-voting that added an unexpected twist. S T Somashekar, a BJP MLA, notably cast his vote in favor of Congress's Ajay Maken. In a contrasting move, another BJP MLA, A Shivaram Hebbar, abstained from voting, revealing the complexities within the political landscape during the elections.


Top Stories

Comment on this article

Leave a Comment

Title: K'taka Rajya Sabha polls: Congress wins 3 seats, BJP 1, alliance defeated

You have 2000 characters left.


Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. Daijiworld.com will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that sending false messages to insult, defame, intimidate, mislead or deceive people or to intentionally cause public disorder is punishable under law. It is obligatory on Daijiworld to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using daijiworld will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will Daijiworld.com be held responsible.