Ashok Chavan, 37 More Ministers Take Oath in Maharashtra

Report : IANS, Pics: Rons Bantwal

Mumbai, Nov 8: Ending a 16-day tussle between coalition partners the Congress and the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), Ashok Chavan took oath as the chief minister of Maharashtra Saturday, November 7 evening along with 37 more ministers.

The new government has 18 ministers from the Congress and 20 from NCP, including Deputy Chief Minister Chhagan Bhujbal.


Maharashtra Governor S.C. Jamir administered the oath of office and secrecy to the new ministers on the lawns of Raj Bhavan here.

There are 12 cabinet ministers from the Congress and 15 from the NCP.

Apart from Chavan, the cabinet ministers from Congress are Narayan Rane, Patangrao Kadam, Shivajirao Moghe, Radhakrishna Vikhe-Patil, Balasaheb Thorat, Harshvardhan Patil, Rajendra Darda, Naseem Khan, Suresh Shetty, Nitin Raut and Subhash Jhanak.

The NCP members of the cabinet are Bhujbal, R.R. Patil, Ajit Pawar, Jayant Patil, Ganesh Naik, Anil Deshmukh, Manohar Naik, Vijaykumar Gavit, Sunil Tatkare, Ramraje Naik-Nimbalkar, Laxmanrao Dhoble, Jaidutt Kshirsagar, Babanrao Pachpute, Rajesh Tope and Hasan Mushrif.


Manohar Naik, Jaidatta Kshirsagar, Anil Deshmukh, Laxman Dhobale

Balasaheb Thorat, Harshawardhan Patil, Jayant Patil, Radha Krishna Vikhe-Patil

Varsh Gaikwad, Ajit Pawar, Babanrao Pachpute, Patangrao Kadak


R R Patil, Ramraje Nimbalkar, Shivajirao Moghe, Vijaykumar Gavit

Arif Mohd.Khan, Suresh Shetty, Sachin Ahir, Narayan Rane


Eleven ministers of state - seven from the Congress and four from NCP - were also sworn-in. There are two women minister of state in the new council.

The Congress minister of states are Ranjit Kamble, Vijay Vadettivar, Padmakar Walvi, Ramesh Bagwe, Varsha Gaekwad and Abdul Sattar, while the NCP junior ministers are Bhaskar Jadhav, Prakash Solunkhe, Sachin Aher, Gulabrao Devkar and Fauzia Khan.

Following the assembly election results Oct 22, a bitter tug-of-war ensued between the Congress and the NCP over the power-sharing formula, which was resolved Thursday evening, paving the way for the formation of the new ministry.

Top Stories

Comment on this article

Leave a Comment

Title : Ashok Chavan, 37 More Ministers Take Oath in Maharashtra


You have 2000 characters left.


Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that sending false messages to insult, defame, intimidate, mislead or deceive people or to intentionally cause public disorder is punishable under law. It is obligatory on Daijiworld to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using daijiworld will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will be held responsible.

Security Validation

Enter the characters in the image