Top Stories

Mangaluru: Tulu Cinemotsava Awards presented in dazzling ceremony

Pics: Dayanand Kukkaje
Daijiworld Media Network - Mangaluru (CLP)

Mangaluru, Feb 1: It was a joyous moment for the Tulu film industry on Saturday January 31 as large crowds witnessed the dazzling Tulu Cinemostava Awards ceremony held at Forum Fiza Mall here.

The awards were given to Tulu films that were released in 2012-2013 and during 2014.

'Rickshaw Driver' was adjudged the Best Film in 2012-2013 while 'Nirel', the first international Tulu movie, won the award for the year 2014.

Shivadhwaj won the 2012-2013 Best Actor (Male) award and Pakhi Hegde Best Actor (Female), both for their roles in 'Bangarda Kural'. Sri Venkatadri won the 2014 award for Best Actor (Male) for 'Brahma Sri Narayana Guru' while the Best Actor (Female) went to Ramya Barna for 'Madime'.

The Lifetime Achievement Award was conferred on K N Tailor and Sanjeeva Dandakeri.

Emerging Actor Award (Male) went to Arjun Kapikad and Emerging Actor Award (Female) to Deekshitha Acharya.

There were also viewers' choice awards where the best films were selected through public voting. Here, 'Rickshaw Driver' once again bagged the best film award, while Arjun Kapikad was voted best actor and Neha Saxena the best actress for the year 2012-2013. 'Chaali Polilu' won the public vote for the best film for the year 2014, while the best actor and actress votes went to Naveen D Padil and Divyashree, respectively.

The programme began with lighting of the traditional lamp by T S Nagabharana, K N Tailor, and Sanjiva Dandakeri along with other dignitaries on the dias.

A welcome dance was performed by Pallavi from Australia. All the jury members were felicitated.

Altaf Hussain of 'Beary' movie, the late Wilfy Rebimbus, Adolphus Cutinha (Dolla Mangalore), Vinni Fernandes and Kasargod Chinna were honoured for their countless contribution towards music, drama and film industry.

Addressing the gathering, Sanjeeva Dandakeri said, "It has been 50 years since I began writing dramas. It is a proud moment for me to recieve this award in Mangaluru. I dedicate this award to all the artistes and to the audience for their constant support."

K N Tailor said, "I made my first movie in 1970. We just had Rs 5,000 in hand and we were facing acute financial crisis. Many people were commenting behind my back saying how can Tailor make a movie. I had to face many other hurdles throughout my career. But my passion towards Tulu industry kept me going."

Comedian Tennis Krishna, former mayor Shashidhar Hegde, mayor Mahabala Maarla, Daijiworld founder Walter Nandalike, film maker Sandeep Malani and other eminent celebrities of Bollywood, Tulu and Kannada industries were also present on this occasion.

The programme was compered by Shwetha Mendon and Sahil.


Awards List

Tulu Cinemostava Awards 2012-2013 (Jury)

Best Film - Rickshaw Driver
Best Actor (Male) - Shivadhwaj for Bangarda Kural
Best Actor (Female) - Pakhi Hegde for Bangarda Kural
Best Director - Ram Shetty for Bangarda Kural
Best Actor in a Comic Role - Navin D Padil for Telikeda Bolli
Best Male Playback Singer - Shanker Mahadevan Rickshaw Driver
Best Female Playback Singer - Sangeeta Balachandra for Bangarda Kural
Best Music Director - V Manohar for Bangarda Kural
Best Choreography - Madan Harini for Bangarda Kural
Best Actor in a Negative Role - Suresh Kulal for Telikeda Bolli
Best Supporting Actor - Naveen D Padil Aamaitu Asal Emait Kusal
Best Supporting Actor - Devdas Kapikad for Telikeda Bolli
Best Supporting Actress - Padmaja Rao Rickshaw Driver
Best Lyricist - Amrutha Someshwer for Bangarda Kural
Best Editor - Nasim Hakim Ansari for Bangarda Kural
Best Art Direction - Tamma Lakshman for Bangarda Kural
Best Dialogue - Devdas Kapikad for Telikeda Bolli
Best Story - Praveen Kumar Konchady Rickshaw Driver
Best Cinematography - Raju K G for Bangarda Kural

Tulu Cinemostava Awards 2014 (Jury)

Best Film- Nirel
Best Actor (Male)- Venkatadri for Bramma Sri Narayana Guru
Best Actor (Female)- Ramya Barna for Madime
Best Supporting Actor- Chethan Rai for Madime
Best Supporting Actress- Deepthi salian for Nirel
Best Actor in a Comic Role- Bojaraj Vamanjur for Madime
Best Actor in a Negative Role- Chethan Rai for Chaali Polilu
Best Story - Karthik R Gowda for Nirel
Best Dialogue- Shubhakar Bannanje for Bramma Sri Narayana Guru
Best Art Direction- Tamma Lakshman for Madime
Best Choreography- Madan Harini for Madime
Best Choreography- Cool Jayanth for Chaali Polilu
Best cinematographer- Mani Kookal for Nirel
Best Lyricist - Vijay Kumar Kodialbail for Madime
Best Music Director - V Manohar for Chaali Polilu
Best Male Playback Singer - Sonu Nigam for Madime
Best Female Playback Singer - Chithra for Madime
Best Editor - P V Mohan Chaali Polilu
Best Director- Virendra Shetty Kavoor for Chaali Polilu

Tulu Cinemostava Awards 2012-2013 (Through Public Voting)

Best Film - Rickshaw Driver
Best Actor - Arjun Kapikad
Best Actress - Neha Saxena

Tulu Cinemostava Awards 2014 (Through Public Voting)

Best Film - Chaali Polilu
Best Actor - Naveen D Padil
Best Actress - Divyashree


Top Stories

Leave a Comment

Title : Mangaluru: Tulu Cinemotsava Awards presented in dazzling ceremony


You have 2000 characters left.


Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that sending false messages to insult, defame, intimidate, mislead or deceive people or to intentionally cause public disorder is punishable under law. It is obligatory on Daijiworld to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using daijiworld will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will be held responsible.

Security Validation

Enter the characters in the image