Sharjah: Wels Gladiators emerge champions at 'Gersan Elektrik Mangalore' Cricket League

Media Release

Sharjah, Mar 2: The finals of the second edition of the Gersan Elektrik Mangalore Cricket League was held in Vision Cricket Ground, Sharjah on February 26, 2021. Eight teams battled it out for six weeks and two of the deserving teams Wels Gladiators and AB Cricketers who had not lost a single match in the league stages made it out to the finals.

AB Cricketers coming into finals with one of the best frontline bowling attacks could not hold on to the aggressive batting displayed by Wels Gladiators batsman to put a massive total on the board. Having put in to bat first Wels Gladiators, even though lost their prolific run scorer Devi Prasad in the third over, put up a 150-run partnership for the second wicket in 66 balls laying the platform for a mammoth total. Notable innings by Rathesh Poojary 86(39) and Ajith Nalluraya 57(36) at the start and then some power hitting by Rakshith 39(14) at the death helped Wels Gladiators to put up 244/6 on the board.

With a required run rate of 12.2 required per over, AB Cricketers went for their shots from the very first over losing wickets in heaps. By the end of the powerplay AB cricketers had lost half their side with only 35 runs on board. For Wels Gladiators Pradeep Hegde, Rizwan Kodi and Ajith Somashekhar all chipped in with three wickets a piece to bundle out AB cricketers for 86 in 14.1 overs.

A win well deserved for Wels Gladiators displaying excellent cricket both with bat and bowl throughout the tournament.
The final Post-match presentationwas graced by the presence of below dignitaries:
• HitamberAttavar, Regional Director - GersanElektrik: MainSponsor of MCL Season 2.
• Sayyed Faisal Hussain, Managing Director - AutoDeal Automotive: Support Sponsor for Team MCC.
• Robinson Rodrigues - Founder of Team MCC

The winning trophy was presented by HitamberAttavarto Wels Gladiators.

Top Performers
• Prashanth D’Souza, AB Cricketers: Most Valuable Player: 203 Runs & 5 Wkts
• Lionel Fernandes, AB Cricketers: Best Bowler of theTournament: 4 M,9 W Eco 8.31&Avg 12.0
• Puneet Kumar,IX on Top: Best Batsman of theTournament: 4 Inn 246 R, Avg 246.00 SR 198.39
• Wilfred Mendonca, Team Kannada MoviesBest Keeper of the Tournament: 4 M, 8 Dismissals, 1 Cat, 1 R/O
• RatheshPoojary, Wels Gladiators: Man of Match for Finals: 86 (39)





Top Stories

Leave a Comment

Title: Sharjah: Wels Gladiators emerge champions at 'Gersan Elektrik Mangalore' Cricket League

You have 2000 characters left.


Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that sending false messages to insult, defame, intimidate, mislead or deceive people or to intentionally cause public disorder is punishable under law. It is obligatory on Daijiworld to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using daijiworld will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will be held responsible.

Security Validation

Enter the characters in the image