Nine Teams Qualify For Hockey World Cup


Chennai, Sep 1: Nine of the 12 spots for the men's World Cup hockey tournament to be held in Delhi from Feb 28 to March 13 next year have been decided, the International Hockey Federation (FIH) said Tuesday.

India, who had finished a poor 11th at the 2006 World Cup in Germany, gained automatic qualification as the hosts, according to a statement from the FIH.

The other teams who have booked their slots for the 2010 World Cup are: Canada, South Korea, South Africa, Australia, England, Germany, The Netherlands, Spain.

The other three spots would be decided after the qualifying tournaments in Lille (France -- Oct 31-Nov 8), Ivercargill (New Zealand - Nov 7-15) and Quilmes (Argentina - Nov 14-22).

In all, 18 teams will contest for the three spots and the contenders include Pakistan, Poland, China, Malaysia, Belgium and Argentina.



Top Stories

Leave a Comment

Title: Nine Teams Qualify For Hockey World Cup

You have 2000 characters left.


Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that sending false messages to insult, defame, intimidate, mislead or deceive people or to intentionally cause public disorder is punishable under law. It is obligatory on Daijiworld to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using daijiworld will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will be held responsible.