Anand Wins Chess Oscar for the Sixth Time


Baku (Azerbaijan), May 11: India's Grand Master Vishwanathan Anand received his sixth Chess Oscar before the start of the President Cup.

Anand, who won the annual award in 1997, 1998, 2003, 2004 and 2007, on Thursday received it from the FIDE president Kirsan Ilyumzhinov, who stated that the reigning World Champion has left second-placed Veselin Topalov behind by a large margin.

Anand became the only non-Russian to win it more than five times. The late Robert J. Fischer, chess genius from the US, won it three times while Russian Garry Kasparov bagged it a record 11 times.

"I first received Chess Oscar in 1997, and now once again I am the laureate. But I have to be grounded as the competition is quite tough in the President's Cup," said Anand, who received an invitation from Azerbaijan for the tournament.

The Chess Oscar is awarded to the best player by the Russian chess magazine "64 -- Chess Review" on the basis of a poll carried out amongst chess journalists and experts.

The Oscar comes in the form of a statuette called the "Fascinated Wanderer".

Anand was declared the winner for 2008 at the end of last season in October after he defended his world championship against Vladimir Kramnik in Bonn. 


Top Stories

Leave a Comment

Title: Anand Wins Chess Oscar for the Sixth Time

You have 2000 characters left.


Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that sending false messages to insult, defame, intimidate, mislead or deceive people or to intentionally cause public disorder is punishable under law. It is obligatory on Daijiworld to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using daijiworld will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will be held responsible.

Security Validation

Enter the characters in the image