West Bengal assembly polls in six phases: EC

New Delhi, March 4 (IANS): The Election Commission on Friday announced a six-phase polling for the 294-member West Bengal assembly.

Chief Election Commissioner Nasim Zaidi said West Bengal will see balloting on seven dates despite a six-phase election: April 4, 11, 17, 21, 25 and 30 and May 5.

Zaidi said polling with be held for 49 seats in two rounds in the first phase - voting in 18 segments will be held on April 4, and for 31 seats on April 11.

As many as 56 seats will go to polls in the second round on April 17. 

Voting will be held in 62 assembly constituencies in the third phase on April 21.

In the fourth phase, polling will be held in 49 segments on April 25.

A total of 53 seats will go to polls in the fifth phase on April 30, and remaining 25 seats on May 5 in the last phase. 

The counting will be taken up on May 19. 


Top Stories

Leave a Comment

Title: West Bengal assembly polls in six phases: EC

You have 2000 characters left.


Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. Daijiworld.com will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that sending false messages to insult, defame, intimidate, mislead or deceive people or to intentionally cause public disorder is punishable under law. It is obligatory on Daijiworld to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using daijiworld will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will Daijiworld.com be held responsible.