News headlines

by Clarence Pinto  - Photographs : Dilip Correa
Daijiworld Media Network - Muscat

Muscat, Sep 4: The MCCP Annual Drawing Competition 2007 organized by the Mangalorean Catholic Centre of the Parish, MCCP (under the patronage of Saints Peter & Paul Catholic Church – Ruwi) for their members’ children was held on 31.08.2007 at the premises of Sts Peter and Paul Church - Ruwi. 

The main sponsor for this annual event was Mrs. & Mr. William Anita D’ Souza & Family – Dubai.

As announced earlier, the 2007 – 2008 Annual Cultural and Sports Events of MCCP are sponsored by Omantel.   The major sponsors for the full annual events are Ideal Tailors, Muscat Pharmacy and Marmul Tours and Travels .

“We had more than 100 entries in this annual and the very first competition of the working year 2007 – 2008 ” said Philomena Moras, the  coordinator of the drawing competition 2007 and the current Spiritual Events Coordinator of MCCP to team in Muscat. “Though we thought the topics were tough, children came out with brilliant ideas and innovative presentations. We were glad to see the artistic talents exhibited by our children and response was above our expectations.”

Program commenced with a welcome speech by Dilip Correa, main coordinator of Cultural, Spiritual and Community Services Committees.          Fr. Albert D Silva OFM Cap offered prayers seeking Heavenly Father’s blessings on the participants and also, declared the opening of the competition. Philomena Moras briefed the rules of the competition. Lancy Lobo, Cultural Events Coordinator proposed the Vote of Thanks. Stanley Fernandes, Current President of MCCP and Valerian Dantis, main coordinator of Sports and Finance Committees were also present.

Vinita D Souza, Victor Baptist Pais, Leera Aranha, Monica Dantis, Shalet Noronha, Nirmala Goveas, Eula Pinto, Nora Vaz, Sunitha Naazreth, Philomena Saldhana, Jancintha Serrao and  Naveen Mascarenhas  were the members of the Annual Drawing Competition organizing committee and all had done meticulous preparation for a successful competition.

The winners are as follows :
Group A - KG 1 and 2

First  Shancy Mendonca
Second Ashwitha Aranha
Third Neil Antony Castelino
Group B Class 1 and 2

First  Venissa Rego
Second Alston Conrad Moras
Third Larina pinto
Group C Class 3 and 4

First  Sneha Sequiera
Second Bertyl Noronha
Third Shannon Menezes
Group D Class 5 and 6

First  Joash Saldanha
Second Larissa Rego
Third Adrina Noronha
Group E Class 7 and 8

First  Rhea Fernades
Second Gale Dsouza
Third Gadrian Dsouza
Group F Class 9, 10, 11 and 12 

First  Liston Pinto
Second Roshan Coelho
Third Meval Dantis


Top Stories

Leave a Comment

Title: News headlines

You have 2000 characters left.


Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that sending false messages to insult, defame, intimidate, mislead or deceive people or to intentionally cause public disorder is punishable under law. It is obligatory on Daijiworld to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using daijiworld will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will be held responsible.