News headlines

Rons Bantwal for Daijiworld Media Network – Mumbai (AF)

Mumbai, Apr 20: The cultural and literature, women’s and the youth wings of Bunts Sangha celebrated Bisu Parba and the second anniversary of Bunt Yaksha Kala Vedike recently at the Bunts Bhavan at Kurla here.

The programme was inaugurated by Dr Satya Seetaram Shetty while Sangha president Dr Padmanabha V Shetty presided. Veteran hotelier and Peninsula Group of Hotels director Raghuram K Shetty was the chief guest.

‘Tulunadina Kattukattale’ by Raghu P Shetty was released on the occasion. Several entertainment programmes were held on the occasion which included a prayer dance by Anusha Shetty and Shloka Shetty.

A poetry session followed the inaugural ceremony which was presided over by veteran litterateur Dr Sanjeeva K Shetty. The session was inaugurated by Buntara Vani former editor Ratnakar R Shetty. Poets Shimunje Parari, Shivanturu Chandrahas Suvarna, Dr Karunakar N Shetty, Narayana Shetty Nandalike, Shanta V Shetty, Dr Sunita M Shetty, Satwika P Shetty, Ashok Pakkala, Pramod Mada, Harekala Lakshminarayana Rai, Vasu Shetty Kandadale and Kodu Boja Shetty participated in the session.

Bhajan programmes and presentations on Bisu Parba by women’s wing of the Sangha led by Asha Manohar Hegde were also part of the occasion. There was also a folk dance presentation by members of the youth wing.

There was also a Rangoli and handicrafts exhibition organized by the women’s wing and a Yakshagana presentation ‘Koddabbu Baraga’ by Bunt Yaksha Kala Vedike.

The valedictory programme was presided over by Sangha vice-president Aikala Harish Shetty while Canara Bank former president J V Shetty was the chief guest. Well known businessman Capt Sarvottam Shetty, advocate Kandadale Parari Prakash L Shetty and veteran Yakshagana Arthadari K K Shetty were the guests of honour.

The Radhabai T Bhandari Memorial Award instituted by the various committees of the Sangha was presented to Bangalore’s well-known social worker Saranya S Hegde, while Y G Shetty Memorial Award went to Mumbai novelist Shanta Sudhakar Shetty and Kananjuru Anand Shetty Memorial Yakshagana Kala Award was presented to Yakshagana artiste Manadi Sadanand Shetty.

Sangha honorary chief secretary K D Shetty, honorary treasurer Sanjeeva K Shetty, joint secretary Jaya A Shetty, joint treasurer Dr Prabhakar Shetty B, women’s wing president Sujaya R Shetty and youth wing president Anil Kumar were present.


Top Stories

Leave a Comment

Title: News headlines

You have 2000 characters left.


Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that sending false messages to insult, defame, intimidate, mislead or deceive people or to intentionally cause public disorder is punishable under law. It is obligatory on Daijiworld to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using daijiworld will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will be held responsible.