'46 coastal radar stations sanctioned, 38 in pipeline'

New Delhi, Aug 8 (IANS): Forty-six coastal radar stations have been sanctioned to strengthen maritime surveillance and foil attempts by terrorists to use the sea route to enter the country and work on 44 of these is complete, the Lok Sabha was informed Friday.

Another 38 stations will be established in the second phase of the project, Defence Minister Arun Jaitley said in a written reply in the Lok Sabha.

“On the remaining two sites, work at Sagar Island has been delayed as the site was inundated due to cyclone Phailin and the subsequent monsoon,” while the environment had declined permission at Narcondum Island.

“An alternate site has been identified at Brichganj Military Station, Port Blair. Further, in order to achieve near gap-free surveillance along the coastline, the government has also accorded approval for establishment of radar stations at 38 additional sites as Phase-II of the project,” Jaitley said.


Top Stories

Leave a Comment

Title: '46 coastal radar stations sanctioned, 38 in pipeline'

You have 2000 characters left.


Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. Daijiworld.com will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that sending false messages to insult, defame, intimidate, mislead or deceive people or to intentionally cause public disorder is punishable under law. It is obligatory on Daijiworld to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using daijiworld will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will Daijiworld.com be held responsible.