News headlines

By Sujay Bendur
Pics by Remcy Fernandes
For Daijiworld News Network - Dubai

Dubai, Apr 1: Gulf Billawa Trophy 2006, Circket Tournament for the FIRST TIME under the banner of GULF BILLAWA'S DUBAI. Was held at Al Badar Cricket ground on 31st March behind Dubai Police Office Club at  8.30 Am.
Eight professional teams participated for the tournament Winner of the trophy were Arab Udupi and the runners up were Millennium Metals.

The Gulf Billawa's Dubai cricket was inaugurated by Dayanad Bengera, (former UAE Cricket Player - 1993 - 1996, Goa Ranji Trophy player - 1986 -1990).
The ground decoration, events and food was designed and prepared in traditional Mangalorean style. The theme was of a village scene in Mangalore and this was for the first time in UAE a cricket tournament was conducted in this style.
The chief guest for the event was B. Ahmed Hajee Moideen (Chairman of Moideen Educational Trust Thumbay), Other degnetaries who graced this event were, M.A.Lathief, Karnataka Sangha Dubai Advisor, C.R.Shetty, President of Karnataka Sangha Dubai, John Monthero, General Secretary Karnataka Sangha Duabi, A.S.Poojary, Vice President Billawa Samaja, Bantwal.

 Dayanad Bangera was felicitated on this occasion and in his speech he said that this is the first time that Billawa Community has felicitated him, the felicitation programme was conducted in traditional mangalorean style.
B. Ahmed Hajee Moideen (Chairman of Moideen Educational Trust Thumbay), in his speech stressed on the unity among all communities.

C.R.Shetty, President of Karnataka Sangha Dubai donated for the second time a cheque of Rs 10,000/-to the family of Late Sadanand Suvarna for the education of his son. The Cheque was presented to Suchith Kumar of Gulf Billawas.
Sudhakar Thumbe & Dayanand Kirodian Conveners of Gulf Billawas also spoke on the occasion.
Commentators for the match were Suchith Kumar, Ashok Anchan and Francis.
Umpires were Vijayan and Prashanth
Scorers were Sudesh Dandakere and Neladhar

Trophy and prizes for the winners was given away by B. Ahmed Hajee Moideen, M.A.Lathief, C.R.Shetty, John Monthero, A.S.Poojary and the prizes for the runners up Was given away by Suchith Kumar and Ashok Anchan.
Vote of thanks was proposed by Suchith Kumar.


Top Stories

Leave a Comment

Title: News headlines

You have 2000 characters left.


Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that sending false messages to insult, defame, intimidate, mislead or deceive people or to intentionally cause public disorder is punishable under law. It is obligatory on Daijiworld to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using daijiworld will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will be held responsible.