Voting underway in Maharashtra's five LS seats

Mumbai, April 19 (IANS): Voting for the first phase of Lok Sabha elections in five constituencies of Maharashtra began at the scheduled time of 7 a.m. on Friday.

These constituencies include Nagpur, Ramtek, Chandrapur, Bhandara-Gondiya, and Gadchiroli-Chimur.

A total of 95,54,667 voters will exercise their voting rights across 10,652 polling stations in these five Lok Sabha constituencies in the Vidarbha region.

In Nagpur, BJP nominee and Union Minister Nitin Gadkari is contesting against Congress nominee and MLA Vikas Thakre. Shiv Sena nominee Raju Parwe is pitted against Congress nominee Shyamkumar Barve in Ramtek.

In Bhandara-Gondiya, BJP's Sunil Mendhe faces a direct fight with Congress nominee Dr Prashant Padole.

Gadchiroli-Chimur witnesses a direct contest between BJP's incumbent MP Ashok Nete and Congress candidate Namdev Kirsan.

In Chandrapur Lok Sabha Constituency, BJP minister Sudhir Mungantiwar is fielded against Congress nominee and MLA Pratibha Dhanorkar.



Top Stories

Leave a Comment

Title: Voting underway in Maharashtra's five LS seats

You have 2000 characters left.


Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that sending false messages to insult, defame, intimidate, mislead or deceive people or to intentionally cause public disorder is punishable under law. It is obligatory on Daijiworld to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using daijiworld will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will be held responsible.