Udupi: Brahmavar block level Congress leaders, supporters join BJP

Daijiworld Media Network - Udupi

Udupi, Sep 28: Brahmavar Block level Congress leaders and the party workers joined BJP at the party office Kadiyali here on Monday, September 28.

MLA Raghupathi Bhat welcomed them by offering a shawl and a BJP flag to the newly joined members.

Former taluk panchayat members Umesh Naik, Raghavendra J P, Harady Jayalakshmi Shetty, Gururaj Rao, Ramesh Poojary, Hema, Soorya, Jayakar and their supporters joined BJP on the occasion.

MLA Raghupathi speaking on the occasion said, "People will get power and sometimes not just in politics. It is common. Leaders should be there with party workers in social activities and should keep good communication with them. None of the party workers of BJP joined other parties when we lost elections. The only reason was we constantly had touch with party supporters. Victory and defeat are part of life. Voters can change every now and then."

"Former minister Pramod Madhwaraj had won the poll in 2013 with 40,000 votes. BJP has got the lead in the 2014 election and in 2018; BJP won the election with 12,400 leading votes. He discontinued communication with party workers after his defeat. Later on he joined JDC and now he is promoting Congress," he further said.

Bhat slammed the Congress to be leaderless and said, "It is different in Congress, because there is no capable leader to lead the party supporters. No one will respond to them. Congress workers are in a dilemma. BJP gives respect to dedicated workers and will be recognized by the party. BJP is recognizing booth level workers and it gives the same respect to all. The party joining process will be kept on till the panchayat election gets over. For those who joined the party, let them be involved in social activities," he wished.

Umesh Naik speaking on the occasion said, "I have discussed with my party friends and received their opinion. Former MP Jayaprakash Hegde brought me into politics and I would like to thank him. I took 4-5 days to decide on defection. I am not a competitor to anybody in the party, but I will put sincere efforts in promoting the party. I will handle any responsibility which is given by the party," he said.

Mahesh Takhoor, Town BJP president, Veena Nayak, rural BJP president, Yashpal Suvarna and Ravi Amin, vice presidents, Dinakar Babu, president, zilla panchayat Udupi, Kutyar Naveen Shetty and others were present.




Comment on this article

  • Felix Pinto, Koteshwara

    Mon, Sep 28 2020

    ಇಲ್ಲಿ ಸಲ್ಲುವವರು ಅಲ್ಲಿಯೂ ಸಲ್ಲುವರಯ್ಯಾ . ಇಲ್ಲಿ ಸಲ್ಲದವರು ಅಲ್ಲಿಯೂ ಸಲ್ಲರಯ್ಯಾ ಕೂಡಲಸಂಗಮದೇವಾ.

    DisAgree Agree [3] Reply Report Abuse

  • Harish Hegde, Mangalore

    Mon, Sep 28 2020

    We voters call them traitors.

    DisAgree Agree [12] Reply Report Abuse


Title : Udupi: Brahmavar block level Congress leaders, supporters join BJP


You have 2000 characters left.


Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. Daijiworld.com will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that sending false messages to insult, defame, intimidate, mislead or deceive people or to intentionally cause public disorder is punishable under law. It is obligatory on Daijiworld to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using daijiworld will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will Daijiworld.com be held responsible.

Security Validation

Enter the characters in the image