1st ODI: England win toss, ask Ireland to bat first

Southampton, Jul 30 (IANS): England's World Cup winning captain Eoin Morgan won the toss and elected to field against Ireland in the first of the three One Day Internationals at the Ageas Bowl here on Thursday.

Many of England's 2019 World Cup winning team members are not part of this series, the first ODI contest since the resumption of cricket after it was stopped due to the COVID-19 pandemic, as the hosts named a young team.

For Ireland, it is an opportunity to further establish their credentials as a decent white-ball side. Led by Andy Balbirnie, the team has the experience of all-rounder Kevin O'Brien and also some promising youngsters.

The England Test side just beat West Indies 2-1 and will take on Pakistan from August 5 at home.

England: Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow (wk), James Vince, Eoin Morgan (capt), Sam Billings, Tom Banton, Moeen Ali, David Willey, Tom Curran, Adil Rashid, Saqib Mahmood

Ireland: Paul Stirling, Gareth Delany, Andy Balbirnie (capt), Harry Tector, Kevin O'Brien, Lorcan Tucker (wk), Simi Singh, Curtis Campher, Andy McBrine, Barry McCarthy, Craig Young



Title : 1st ODI: England win toss, ask Ireland to bat first


You have 2000 characters left.


Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. Daijiworld.com will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that sending false messages to insult, defame, intimidate, mislead or deceive people or to intentionally cause public disorder is punishable under law. It is obligatory on Daijiworld to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using daijiworld will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will Daijiworld.com be held responsible.

Security Validation

Enter the characters in the image