Sharjah: Mangalore Strikers win Uswas Trophy 2022

Media Release

Sharjah, Dec 3: Mangalore Strikers, Dubai won the coveted Uswas Trophy-2022, a 10 side MRE Tennis Ball Cricket tournament played at Skyline University Ground, Sharjah on November 27.

On a beautiful & sunny atmosphere, Uswas Trophy-2022 was organized by Uswas-Shirva, a group of Shirva Parishioners as part of their yearlong 20th anniversary year celebration programmes. An exciting game of final was played between Mangalore Strikers and Mangalore Lions for the coveted Uswas Trophy-2022 with a cash prize of Dhs 3,333.00 sponsored by Blen & Lavisha Quadros, Abu Dhabi. Mangalore Strikers won the tournament defeating Mangalore Lions team by 10 wickets in the finals. Batting first Mangalore Lions scored 41 runs losing 5 wickets in their allotted 6 overs. Mangalore Strikers chased the target in 3 overs without losing any wickets courtesy fine bowling by Ajay and batting by Ashok Mathias. Mangalore Lions was awarded the Uswas runners-up trophy with a cash prize of Dhs. 2,222.00 co-sponsored by Herald D’Souza & Margaret Leena Soares (Abu Dhabi) and Leyton Shipping LLC.

Uswas-Shirva president Roshan Menezes welcomed the participating teams and gathering in the morning. Uswas Trophy-2022 was unveiled by Uswas-Shirva’s Lesly Saldanha, Sharan D’Souza, Vilma Saldanha and Sandeep Saldanha along with 2 participating teams Terminators and Mangalore Strikers. A total number of 10 teams took part in the tournament. Semi-final matches were played between Mangalore Strikers v/s Leyton Shipping Team AB Cricketers from Pool A and Mangalore Lions v/s DMC from Pool B. People witnessed some excellent and excited cricket matches from all teams.

Sponsors and supporters of Uswas Trophy-2022 - Godwin, Laveena, Clovy Aranha, Lilly Lobo (Abu Dhabi), Anitha D’Souza, Mr & Mrs Peter Reshma D’Souza, Mr & Mrs Raphael Nancy Danthi, Nelson Saldanha presented the awards to the winning and runner up teams and individual awards. All the matches were presented with Man of the Match awards. Following players won overall individual awards.

1. Man of the Series – Ashok Mervin Mathias from Mangalore Strikers
2. Man of the Match Finals – Ajay D’Souza from Mangalore Strikers
3. Best Batsman – Antony D’Souza from Leyton Shipping Team AB
4. Best Bowler - Ajay D’Souza from Mangalore Strikers
5. Best Fielder – Deepak D’Souza from DMC

Snacks, water, soft-drinks, fruits and juices were served to players and spectators throughout the event. Entertaining running commentary was provided by Sharan, Sandeep, Richard, Roshan, Naveen, Preetesh, Donald and scoring was done by Denis Mathias, Lesly Saldanha & Joel Tauro. Neutral Umpires for the tournament were Mithun, Abijith and Nabil. The entire tournament was ably organized by Uswas-Shirva committee members coordinated by Sandeep Saldanha.

The award ceremony was well presented by Manoj Menezes who thanked all sponsors on behalf of Uswas Shirva.

Uswas-Trophy 2022 was supported by Blen & Lavisha Quadros (Abu Dhabi), Herald D’Souza & Leena Margaret Soares (Abu Dhabi), Globelink West Star Shipping LLC, Lancy D’Souza of Leyton Shipping LLC, Walter Mathias of RATSKY Club Karama, Wilson Fernandes of Fernandes Group, Mr & Mrs Charles Irene Quadros, Benny George, Loveline D’Mello and Alert Real Estate Management LLC

Teams participated in Uswas Trophy 2022 were:

Pool A: Terminators, Mangalore Strikers, Leyton Shipping Team AB Cricketers, Team KY & Eagles Cricketers Abu Dhabi

Pool B: DMC, SMKV STARS, Arabian Strikers, Blenders CC & Mangalore Lions.

Organizers Uswas-Shirva managed the entire day’s proceedings in the utmost professional way.





Top Stories

Leave a Comment

Title: Sharjah: Mangalore Strikers win Uswas Trophy 2022

You have 2000 characters left.


Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that sending false messages to insult, defame, intimidate, mislead or deceive people or to intentionally cause public disorder is punishable under law. It is obligatory on Daijiworld to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using daijiworld will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will be held responsible.