LS results: Celebrations galore in BJP camps in Udupi and Mangaluru

Pics: Umesh Marpalli
Daijiworld Media Network – Udupi (EP)

Udupi, May 21: With BJP's Shobha Karandlaje emerging winner of the Lok Sabha election from Udupi-Chikkamagaluru constituency, thousands of BJP activists who had gathered around the votes counting center burst into celebrations sprinkling flowers and distributing sweets.

Shobha Karandlaje garnered 7,18,916 votes, defeating JD(S)-Congress coalition candidate Pramod Madhwaraj who secured 3,69,317 votes. BSP candidate P Parameshwara came third with 15,910 votes, while independent candidate Amrith Shenoy managed to get 7,981 votes. As many as 7,510 votes were cast for NOTA.

Jubilant BJP activists waved party flags chanting 'Modi Modi' and slogans in favour of Shobha Karandlaje while dancing with joy. Women activists held pictures of Modi and wore sunglasses with BJP symbol.

The activists took out a procession with Shobha Karandlaje in an open vehicle from Brahmagiri circle to the main streets of Udupi. The procession that began at Brahmagiri circle passed via Ajjarkad, Diana circle, Alankar, service bus station, Kalsanka and concluded in front of BJP office. Activists in the open vehicle chanted slogans throughout the road.

As the rally reached BJP office, party leaders and activists rained flowers and welcomed Shobha with a garland and sweets. They shared their joy by distributing sweets among people.

Shobha said that the state coaltion government led by CM Kumaraswamy is likely to fall very soon. "We will form BJP government in the state again and continue the development work taken up during last BJP term. Perhaps for the first time in the history of the country, opposition party candidates have been humiliated and sent back home. People have slapped Congress leaders on the face with their votes," she said.

MLA K Raghupathi Bhat, MP Kumaraswamy, Lalaji Mendon, Sunil Kumar, former MLA Jeevaraj, BJP district president Mattaru Rathnaker Hegde, Yashpal Suvarna, Udayakumar Shetty, Kuthyar Navin Shetty, Gurme Suresh Shetty, Kuyiladi Suresh Nayak, Nayana Ganesh and hundreds of party workers took part in the celebrations.

Shobha who proceeded in rally to Malpe was accorded a hearty welcome there. Party workers threw flowers and celebrated.


In Mangaluru too, BJP leaders and party workers erupted in joy as party candidate Nalin Kumar Kateel triumphed third time in a row.

Nalin Kumar garnered a total of 7,74,285 votes, as against Mithun Rai who secured 4,99,664 votes. SDPI candidate Mohammed Ilyas came third with 46,839 votes. As many as 7,380 votes were cast for NOTA.

The party activists carried Nalin on their shoulders, splashed colours at each other and distributed sweets, besides bursting fire crackers to celebrate the victory.

Speaking to reporters, Nalin credited his victory to the able governance provided by Narendra Modi for the past five years. "Due to the excellent governance by Narendra Modi, the people of the district have blessed me too. My victory is also because of the hard work put in by the seven BJP MLAs in the district. And also the failure of the state government," he said.

He said that he has no aspirations of becoming a minister in the new central government. "I came into politics to serve people, not for any posts. My only wish is to make Dakshina Kannada a model district by developing it."

He also said that the JD(S) and Congress leaders in the state are themselves going to be the reason for the fall of the coalition government, and BJP would contemplate on the steps it should if such a situation arises.


Comment on this article

  • Sanjay, Hebri

    Fri, May 24 2019

    Burnol stocks are empty...high demand for it

    DisAgree [2] Agree [8] Reply Report Abuse

  • Jossey Saldanha, Mumbai

    Fri, May 24 2019

    120 Developed Countries have scrapped EVM's.
    Now you know where India stands ...

    DisAgree [10] Agree [5] Reply Report Abuse

  • Nice, Mangalore

    Fri, May 24 2019

    Its not EVM its the honest TAX payers money who funds these victory. Am sure the TAX payers are happy.

    DisAgree [3] Agree [2] Reply Report Abuse

  • Raju, Karkala

    Fri, May 24 2019

    Breaking News. Amit Shah will be next home minister

    DisAgree [2] Agree [6] Reply Report Abuse

  • Vincent Rodrigues, Katapadi/Bangaluru

    Fri, May 24 2019

    Coastal strength of the state to BJP is known to all which they maintained.Congratulation to the winners and all the best.

    DisAgree Agree [11] Reply Report Abuse

  • dinky, HILL TOP KUDLA

    Fri, May 24 2019

    now bjp voted people ask DIRECTLY TO modi for development. not mp or mla...because these bjp supporters voted for MODI. SO modi sholud work in all mp constiuncys without fail.
    while voting time bjp people saying....WE ARE VOTING MODI not MP....
    SO NOW mp are just for name sake choosen.....any way modi hardly sleeping in first 5 yaers.
    now in 2nd term modi sholud not sleep. HE SHOULD work day nd night 24 hrs daily modi wont rest nd no HOLIDAYS , NO foreign HONEY MOON OR BUISNESS TOURS TO FAVOUR CORPORATE WORLD...

    DisAgree [8] Agree [9] Reply Report Abuse


Title : LS results: Celebrations galore in BJP camps in Udupi and Mangaluru


You have 2000 characters left.


Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that sending false messages to insult, defame, intimidate, mislead or deceive people or to intentionally cause public disorder is punishable under law. It is obligatory on Daijiworld to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using daijiworld will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will be held responsible.

Security Validation

Enter the characters in the image