Daijiworld Media Network - Mangaluru (ANK/AM)

Mangaluru, Mar 15: Walking in the footsteps of other film industries, coastalwood artists and technicians are all set to organise 'Coastalwood Premier League' from April 4 to 8 at Nehru Maidan. The auction of the players is all set to be held on March 15 at Forum Fiza mall.

Members of the industry will represent eight teams namely Glitz Gladiators, M W Strikers, Kadandale Tigers, Kalkude Belters, Royal Rangers, Jugari Warriers, Brand Vision Tuskers and R S Brothers owned by different owners. One hundred forty members of the industry have been divided into three categories based on their performance shown in the trial matches held last year.

The players will be selected by their respective franchises through an auction process. Each team can utilize the auction money of Rs 3,00,000 each. Each team has to purchse one star player, one icon player, four players from Pool A, four players from Pool B and three players from Pool C.

Arjun Kapikad, Rupesh Shetty, Asthik Shetty, Anup Sagar, Saurab Bhandary, Prathvi Amber, ShravanKadri and Prakash Shetty have been marked as star players this year. The tournament will be held as per the style of IPL, MPL. The organisers of MPL Mohammed Sirajuddin and Imthiaz are looking after the whole event under the banner of Brand Vision Event Management team.

The eight teams will be devided into two pools of 4 teams each. During the league system each team has to play three matches and three teams from each pool will be qualified to the knock out stage. The teams placed number one will directly qualify to the semifinals. However, the teams placed 2nd and 3rd have to play elimination matches to qualify to the semifinals.

The matches will be 10 overs a side. The winners will receive an attractive trophy and cash prize of Rs 2,00,000 and the runners-up will be awarded trophy with cash prize of Rs 1,00,000. Man of the match award will be given in every match. Man of the series, Best Batsman, Best Bowler and Best fielder awards will be given at the end of the tournament. There will be a special prize to the player who hits highest number of sixes in the tournament. Ministers, MPs, MLA s and other eminent personalities are in the CPL advisory committee. Top coastalwood stars like Devidas Kapikad, Naveen Padil, Vijayakumar Kodialbail, Bhojaraj Vamanjoor, Shivsharan Shetty, Vijaya Vittalnatha Shetty and others are also part of the committee.