Mangaluru: MPL cricket tourney to be held from Dec 17 to 31

Media Release

Mangaluru, Aug 10: By adorning the grand success of last year, Karnataka Regional Cricket Academy is stepping towards organising the MPL-2016 with added attractions in December.

The third version of Mangalore Premier League will be held from December 17 to 31 at B R Ambedkar Cricket Stadium, NMPT, here. This mega event will be held in association with Mangalore Ocassionals and with the approval and guidance of Karnataka State Cricket Association.

MPL has become a proper platform for the upcoming cricket talents of Mangaluru zone (consisting of Dakshina Kannada, Udupi and Kodagu districts) to step to further heights in the cricket field. The names of about 24 players who played in the last MPL is placed in the players auction list for the coming Karnataka Premier Leaugue.

The matches will be played in the day as well as under floodlight. This year 8 lighting towers with a height of 60 feet will be provided so that the players can feel they are playing in daylight. There is a proposal to provide an Astro Turf Wicket and turf for 30 yard circle. There will be live telecast of the match through the local TV channel and matches from quarter final onwards will be telecast through DD Sports channel. Also a live scoring facility will be provided, which can be accessed worldwide. The live programme will be recorded through high dimension cameras to enhance the quality of live coverage.

A fun park is the added attraction this year in which children coming with their parents can enjoy cricket along with fun games. Air conditioned live coverage/commentary arena and cabin for press will be arranged.

As of last year, the tournament will be held on league cum knock out basis. The twelve teams from different places of Mangaluru zone will be divided into two pools. Each team has to play 5 matches in the particular pool. Qualifiers will play in the knockout stage. This year a few new teams from Karkala, Kundapur and Baikampady are taking part in the event.

The IPL players K C Cariappa, Kings Punjab, Shivil Kaushik, Gujarat Lions and Kishore Kamath of Mumbai Indian will be playing at the MPL this year which will give a boost to the tournament.

Players’ pool/auction:
To make the MPL further attractive this year, a provision is given to 24 icon players who have been represented in IPL/KPL and national level tournaments, to play in the tournament. Each team will select 2 players each through the auction. There is a provision given to the owner to choose a player of his own apart from the auction process. An opportunity is given to the 24 NRI players of Mangaluru zone to show off their talent in the motherland. The players from Mangaluru zone will be distributed in the three pools namely 48 players in A pool, 24 players in B pool and the remaining in C pool. The players auction process will be held in the month of September.

Players interested in taking part in the MPL have to register their names by submitting the registration forms available in the website www.krcaindia.com and www.facebook.com/mplofficial. Also, players can register their names in the office of KRCA, Hampankatta, in the city.

Top Stories

Leave a Comment

Title : Mangaluru: MPL cricket tourney to be held from Dec 17 to 31


You have 2000 characters left.


Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. Daijiworld.com will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that sending false messages to insult, defame, intimidate, mislead or deceive people or to intentionally cause public disorder is punishable under law. It is obligatory on Daijiworld to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using daijiworld will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will Daijiworld.com be held responsible.

Security Validation

Enter the characters in the image