News headlines

Daijiworld Media Network – Mangalore (NR/MB)

Mangalore, Jul 14: The revised list of assembly and Lok Sabha constituencies for the district has been notified by the election commission of India. From this it has become quite clear that the commission has totally neglected the historical value and purpose behind the previous constituencies by cancelling Ullal and Suratkal constituencies.

The general public opinion is that by including Ullal under Mangalore assembly constituency, the historical relevance of the constituency is lost. There is an ancient historical link attached to Ullal in the form of the tale of Queen Abbakka who fought valiantly against the Portuguese. Now this historical aspect seems to have been sidetracked. For the local populace, in general giving the name of Mangalore for three of the constituencies without much relevance, points to the lack of diversity.

According to a release from the Dakshina Kannada deputy commissioner’s office, the revised list of constituencies has been published in the division IV of the state gazette, dated July 2, 2007. The final list has been kept open for the general public view at taluk offices, office of the assistant commissioner and Mangalore city corporation (MCC).

As per the notification, the Assembly constituencies will be Beltangady (200), Moodbidri (201), Mangalore urban north (202), Mangalore urban south (203), Mangalore (204), Bantwal (205), Puttur(206) and Sullia (207), which will comprehend-sively form the Dakshina Kannada Lok Sabha constituency (17).Beltangady assembly constituency includes the Beltangady taluk, while Moodabidri assembly is comprised of Suratkal, Moodabidri and Mulki hobalis, Moodabidri town municipal council and Mulki town panchayat. The Mangalore urban north includes Mangalore taluk, Gurupur hobli and wards 1-20, 22 and 23 of MCC. Mangalore urban south includes wards 21 and 24-60 of MCC.
Mangalore assembly constituency is comprised of Mangalore taluk, Mangalore-B hobali, ullal town municipal council, Bantwal taluk, Panemangalore hobali’s Meramajalu, Kodman, Sajipanadu, Sajipapadu, Cheluru, Kurnadu, Phajeeru, Kairangala, Naringana, Balepuni, Ira, Pudu and Thumbe villages. Bantwal assembly constituency includes Bantwal hobali in Bantwal taluk, Panemangalore hobali’s Kariyangala, Badagabelluru, Tenkabelluru, Ammunje, Kallige, Sajipamunnuru, Sajipamuda, Amturu, Narikombu, Shambhuru, Manchi, Goltamajalu, Baltila, Barimaru and Kadeshwalya villages, Vittal hobali’s Bolanturu, Veerakambha, Anantady, Mani, Peraje, Netlamudnuru, Kolnadu, Vitlapadnuru, Saletturu, Karopady and Kanyana villages, and also Bantwal town municipal council.

Puttur assembly constituency includes Vittal hobali’s Biliyuru, Perne, Kedila, Vittal, Peruvayi, Manila, Alike, Idkidu, Kula, Vitlamudnuru,, Kepu and Punacha villages; Puttur hobali and Uppinangady hobali’s Kabaka, Kudipady, Padnuru, Bannuru, Kodimbady, Chikkamudnuru, Bellapady, Nekkilady, Hirebandady, Uppinangady and Bajatturu villages, and Puttur town municipal council. Sullia Assembly constituency (reserved for scheduled caste candidate) is comprised of Sullia talukm, Puttur taluk, Kadaba hobali, Uppinangady hobali’s Golitottu, Alantaya, Konalu, Nelyady, Kowkrady, Ichlampady, Konaje, Shirady and Shiribagilu villages.



Title : News headlines


You have 2000 characters left.


Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that sending false messages to insult, defame, intimidate, mislead or deceive people or to intentionally cause public disorder is punishable under law. It is obligatory on Daijiworld to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using daijiworld will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will be held responsible.

Security Validation

Enter the characters in the image