Mumbai: ‘Shri Narayanaguru Literary Award’ conferred on Dr Vishwanath Karnad

Daijiworld Media Network—Mumbai (DV)

Mumbai, Apr 4: Billawa Association’s ‘Akshaya’ monthly conferred its annual ‘Shri Narayana Guru Literary Award-2013’ on famous litterateur and teacher Dr Vishwanath Karnad at the Brahmashree Naryana Guru Convention Hall of Billawa Bhavan at Santa Cruz (East), recently.

The programme was presided over by association president LV Amin. J C Suvarna inaugurated the programme by lighting the lamp.

Dr C Veeranna, president, Karnataka Sahitya Parishat, was the chief guest. Dr R Poornima, veteran reporter, was the honorary guest who conferred the award on Dr Karnad. On this occasion, veteran litterateur Dr J D Joshi gave the congratulatory speech. Also, renowned litterateur Dr Na D’ Souza and M B Kukkian were honoured.

J C Suvarna, in his inaugural speech, congratulated Kukkian, the editor of Akshaya monthly and said he was really proud of the magazine which identifies litterateurs.

Dr Veeranna said that such an environment should be created where everyone lives together and there is need for harmony in society. “Hence, we should mingle with people of other religions, languages, and caste,” he added.

After receiving the award, Dr Karnad said, “Without any inference this award has gained popularity. This is really my good fortune.”

Dr Poornima said that the work in Mumbai of Kannadigas was really appreciable and added that Sri Naryana Guru had inspired her also.
Dr K Raghunath said, “Litterateurs have no bond of caste. In future, the Billawa Association will show that the awardees of Shri Narayana Guru Literary Award are all equal.”

Association’s former honorary president Y Nagesh, vice-presidents C T Salian, Chandrashekar S Poojary, Bhaskar M Salian, honorary chief treasurer Bhaskar V Bangera, and Shakunthala Kotian, working president of women’s wing were present on the stage. Dr Sunitha M Shetty, Shimunje Parari, and poet B S Kurkal conducted a cultural programme. Anushka Vasanth Salian and her parents were felicitated by M N Karkera.

Bhavya offered prayer, Nithyananda D Kotiyan welcomed. Dharmesh Salian compered the cultural programme. Honorary chief secretary Jyothi presented the keynote address. Harish K Hejamadi read the felicitation note while Sathish Bangera thanked.

On this occasion, the editorial board members Mahesh C Karkala, Jayaram G Nayak, Nisha Rajesh Bangera, Santhosh K Poojary, and Kusuma Chandra Poojary were present.           

Top Stories

Leave a Comment

Title : Mumbai: ‘Shri Narayanaguru Literary Award’ conferred on Dr Vishwanath Karnad


You have 2000 characters left.


Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that sending false messages to insult, defame, intimidate, mislead or deceive people or to intentionally cause public disorder is punishable under law. It is obligatory on Daijiworld to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using daijiworld will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will be held responsible.

Security Validation

Enter the characters in the image