Live Cricket Score : First ODI - India Vs West Indies

Daijiworld Media Network

Cuttack, Nov 29: India and West Indies cricket teams are now all set to vie with each other in another form of the game. The shorter ODI version of the game will begin here at Barabati stadium on Tuesday, November 29. The first of the five-match ODI series will be a day-night encounter, starting at 2.30 pm IST.

After a thrilling final test match and a comfortable 2-0 series victory in the longer version, India will now be without some of the regular and star players in the side. Captain Cool Mahendra Singh Dhoni has been rested, and Virendra Sehwagh will lead the side in his absence. Sachin Tendulkar has been rested too, and Yuvraj Singh is out of the squad due to ill health. Harbhajan Singh was never considered. Fast bowler Praveen Kumar, though selected initially, will be out due to injury for the first three one-dayers. Abhimanyu Mithun will replace him.

This series may prove to be an ideal platform for young players, specially bowlers like Umesh Yadav and Varun Aaron. Both fast bolwers made lasting impact in the recently concluded test series.

India will be a strong batting side with captain Sehwag, Gambhir, Kohli, Rahane, Rohit Sharma and all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja in the top and middle order. Spinner Ashwin is also being considered as all-rounder after his magnificent hundred in Mumbai during the third test. Parthiv Patel, wicket-keeper-cum-batsman can be a handy player as well.

For West Indies Lendle Simmons and Adrian Barath are a good opening pair. Darren Bravo is in tremendous form, having scored two hundreds in the test series.

Kieron Pollard, specialist all-rounder for the shorter version of the game is back in the team. Marlon Samuels, Andre Russell and Darren Sammy are good back-ups. Wicket keeper Denesh Ramdin who had to sit out during the test series is back. He is a useful batsman too.

Barabati stadium has a crowd capacity of 48,000. It would be interesting to see how the ODI will attract the crowd this time. So far, 16 ODIs have been played at this stadium since 1982, when the first ODI was played here between India and England. India has played 13 matches here, winning 9 and losing 4. Against West Indies, India have played two games, and won both.


India (From): Virender Sehwag(c), Parthiv Patel(w), Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Vinay Kumar, Varun Aaron, Umesh Yadav, Rahul Sharma, Praveen Kumar, Ajinkya Rahane, Manoj Tiwary

West Indies (From): Darren Sammy(c), Lendl Simmons, Adrian Barath, Darren Bravo, Kieron Pollard, Marlon Samuels, Denesh Ramdin(w), Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach, Danza Hyatt, Kieran Powell, Anthony Martin, Jason Mohammed

Match Officials

Umpires: Tony Hill(NZ), Shavir Tarapore(Ind)Third Umpire: S Ravi(Ind)Match Referee: David Boon(Aus)

Comment on this article

Leave a Comment

Title : Live Cricket Score : First ODI - India Vs West Indies


You have 2000 characters left.


Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that sending false messages to insult, defame, intimidate, mislead or deceive people or to intentionally cause public disorder is punishable under law. It is obligatory on Daijiworld to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using daijiworld will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will be held responsible.

Security Validation

Enter the characters in the image