Bengaluru: Nine in race to occupy chief minister's chair

Daijiworld Media Network - Bengaluru (SP)

Bengaluru, Jul 23: As the possibility of chief minister B S Yediyurappa, climbing down from his position as the chief minister is appearing to be moving towards certainty, several names have been popping up for occupying his chair. Even though the name of Pralhad Joshi is in the lead, there are also references to C T Ravi, B L Santhosh and Murugesh Nirani in the BJP corridors. Deputy chief minister Dr C N Ashwath Narayan, too is an aspirant. Aravind Bellad is said to be lobbying hard in New Delhi to spring a surprise by becoming chief minister. It is said that Yediyurappa is recommending the name of minister Basavaraj Bommai, for the post. K S Eshwarappa too has been making efforts in his own way.

Aravind Bellad, who is not a very well-known face either for the people of the state or in the power corridors, has been trying his best to become the chief minister. He had recently visited Varanasi, from where he is camping in New Delhi. He is said to be meeting leaders of the party and trying to convince them to make him the next chief minister. Bellad has met Bhupendra Yadav, a prominent BJP leader.

It appears that R Ashok too is interested to lead the next cabinet. It is analysed that Murugesh Nirani may find it hard to realise his dream as there are bottlenecks in his progress with Yediyurappa himself blocking his promotion, some sources say. Even many of the migrant leaders are angry at him. At the same time, Kuruba community leaders who point out that Lingayats and Vokkaligas have become chief ministers a number of times, argue that backward classes have not been properly represented. They want K S Eshwarappa to become the next chief minister.

Even though Pralhad Joshi’s name is in the lead, as he is a union minister and close to Modi and Shah, he might not be sent to state politics now. Joshi also is said to be disinterested to become chief minister for just two years. C T Ravi has to organize the party and B L Santhosh too has to work to stabilise the party organization. Therefore it is very difficult to guess who will emerge as the replacement for Yediyurappa.





Top Stories

Leave a Comment

Title: Bengaluru: Nine in race to occupy chief minister's chair

You have 2000 characters left.


Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that sending false messages to insult, defame, intimidate, mislead or deceive people or to intentionally cause public disorder is punishable under law. It is obligatory on Daijiworld to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using daijiworld will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will be held responsible.

Security Validation

Enter the characters in the image