President congratulates CWG medal winners

New Delhi, Aug 1 (IANS): President Pranab Mukherjee Friday congratulated sportspersons who won medals at the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow Thursday.

The president congratulated Lalita, Bijneesh Bajrang, Sakshi Malik, Satyavrat Kadian, Santoshi Matsa, Navjot Kaur and Swati Singh for the "impressive accomplishment" in their respective disciplines and gave his "best wishes for future success".

In separate letters, Mukherjee said: "Your achievement shows that Indian sports persons can achieve the pinnacle of any sport at the international level."

Silver medals were bagged by Lalita in the women's freestyle 53 kg wrestling, Bijneesh Bajrang in men's freestyle 61 kg wrestling, Sakshi Malik in women's freestyle 58 kg wrestling, Satywart Kadian in men's freestyle 97 kg wrestling and Santoshi Matsa in women's 53 kg weightlifting.

Swati Singh and Navjot Kaur won bronze in women's 53 kg weightlifting and freestyle 69 kg wrestling respectively.


Top Stories

Leave a Comment

Title: President congratulates CWG medal winners

You have 2000 characters left.


Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that sending false messages to insult, defame, intimidate, mislead or deceive people or to intentionally cause public disorder is punishable under law. It is obligatory on Daijiworld to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using daijiworld will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will be held responsible.