Jammu and Kashmir Legislators Vote for New President

Srinagar, Jul 19 (IANS): Jammu and Kashmir legislators began gathering at the assembly complex here much before voting began Thursday to elect India's 13th president.

The Bharatiya Janata Party's Jugal Kishore was the first to cast his vote after the process began in this summer capital.

The state has 87 elected legislators, all of whom are eligible to vote for the country's president.

The ruling Congress-National Conference alliance in the state is supporting former finance minister and United Progressive Alliance (UPA) candidate Pranab Mukherjee for the post.

The opposition People's Democratic Party (PDP), which has 21 legislators in the assembly, has also decided to support Mukherjee.


Top Stories

Leave a Comment

Title: Jammu and Kashmir Legislators Vote for New President

You have 2000 characters left.


Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. Daijiworld.com will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that sending false messages to insult, defame, intimidate, mislead or deceive people or to intentionally cause public disorder is punishable under law. It is obligatory on Daijiworld to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using daijiworld will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will Daijiworld.com be held responsible.