Mangaluru: Govt sponsored Kambala at Morla, Bola on Mar 25 – MLA U T Khader

Mohan Kuthar

Daijiworld Media Network – Mangaluru (EP)

Mangaluru, Mar 23: “The government sponsored Kambala will be held for the first time at Morla, Bola in the name of Lava Kusha Jodukare Kambala in flood lights on March 25, said MLA U T Khader.

It will be inaugurated in the presence of dignitaries along with the rituals of Tulunadu at 10.30 am, he said. Speaking in the news conference held near Kambala lake on Wednesday, he said that the chief seer of Shantipalike, Vedamurhthi Varkady Rajesh Talithaya will inaugurate the event. The lake will be inaugurated by Kanatur temple managing trustee Thimmayya Kondeyane Manju Bhandary.

“The Kambala has been a cause for all round celebrations for Naringana villagers. There are visitors to every house like for fair. The Kambala that will be chaired by me will not give room for differences of parties, religions, wealth and castes,” he said.

“Elders and experts who were responsible for the success for Pajir Kambala that celebrated silver jubilee and owners of buffaloes, Venkappa Kajava Mithakodi will preside over the Naringana Kambala. Social worker, Kambala fan and organizer Prashanth Kajava Mithakodi will be the executive president,” he said.

“Naringana that hosts sport, cultural activities and provided shelter to people displaced due to sea erosion 35 years ago, will be world famous through Naringana Kambala,” he said.

Executive president Prashanth Kajava said that a Kambala committee and sub committee are formed in order to conduct the Kambala as per rules. “We are expecting the cooperation of buffalo owners that will be arriving from distant places. As Talapady Kambala and Paivalike Kambala are not being held now, the owners of buffaloes will arrive from Kasargod in large numbers to try their luck,” he said.

Former Bantwal taluk panchayat president Chandrahas Karkera said that the MLA decided to lay the foundation and built the 170 meters long lake swiftly and beautifully in a day.

“Special galleries and toilets are arranged for women. Parking is arranged in an area of ten acres. Expert volunteers will shoulder the responsibility of parking.

Kamabala fans from Naringana gram panchayat and Mangaluru have been providing advice and suggestions for the last one month, Nearly 150 owners of buffaloes have promised to participate,” he said.

“Naringana gram panchayat president Shailaja Shetty will preside over the inauguration programme. Religious leaders Gunaker Alva, Badaje Ravishanker Shetty, priests Ganesh Bhat Panjala, Raghavendra Acharya, Kambala committee district president Ermal Rohit Hegde, K Ravindra Shetty, Abdul Azeez alias Mysore Baba, ACP Dhanya Nayak, Prabhaker Rai, Fr Fredrick Correa, and Mohan Das Bhandary will take part," he said. 

Special arrangements are made for prizes to the winning buffaloes.

Executive president Prashanth Kajava Mithakodi, chief secretary Nawaz Naringana, vice president Chandrahas Shetty Morlaguthu, Karunaker Shetty Morla, Maxim D’Souza, ladies wing president Mamatha D S Gatty, chief convener Girish Alva Morla, treasurer Abdul Jaleel Montugoli, joint secretary Pramanand Rai, Vaibhav Shetty Talapady, convener Nasir Nadupadav, Muralidhar Shetty Morla, secretary Aboobacker Siddik Pare, co-convener Joseph Cutinha, Vinay Shetty, Azeez R K C, Sunder Poojary Kodimajalu, media convener Sathish Kumar Pundikai were present. Chief secretary Nawaz Naringana welcomed.

Naringana Kambala festival to be witness to communal harmony

The resumption of Kambala that was suspended for some time here has the efforts of people belonging to various religions. The Naringana Kambala festival will be a witness to communal harmony.

MLA U T Khader is the president of Lava Kusha Jodukare Kambala committee. Venkappa Kajava Mithakodi and Prashanth Kajava Mithakodi are the honorary president and executive president. Naringana gram panchayat vice president Nawaz Naringana is the chief secretary. Abdul Jaleel Montugoli is the treasurer. Mixim D’ Souza, Karunaker Shetty Morla and Chandrahas Shetty Morlaguthu are vice presidents. The committee formed with Joseph Cutinha Bola, Vinay Shetty Narla, Azeez R and K C Sunder Poojary Kodimajalu as the co-conveners is a speciality.




Top Stories

Comment on this article

Leave a Comment

Title: Mangaluru: Govt sponsored Kambala at Morla, Bola on Mar 25 – MLA U T Khader

You have 2000 characters left.


Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that sending false messages to insult, defame, intimidate, mislead or deceive people or to intentionally cause public disorder is punishable under law. It is obligatory on Daijiworld to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using daijiworld will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will be held responsible.