Mangaluru: 35th conference of K'taka journalists on March 7-8

Daijiworld Media Network – Mangaluru (EP)

Mangaluru, Feb 15: The 35th conference of working journalists in Karnataka (KUWJ) will be held in the town hall here on March 7 and March 8. It is the first such conference by KUWJ to be held in the coastal city.

Mangaluru has left behind several historic footprints in journalism. The first Kannada daily newspaper ‘Mangaluru Samachara’ was started here 177 years ago. The movement of Kannada journalism that began here spread to Karnataka. Journalists who had remained unorganized till then became organized. Nalwadi Krishnarajendra Vodeyar stood as a backbone for them. The association of Mysuru journalists association took birth in Bengaluru in 1932. The then author and journalist D V Gundappa was the founder president. KUWJ has got units in all the districts of the state and has more than 7,000 journalists as its members now.

Dakshina Kannada district working journalists association that was formed on October 6, 1976, is indulging in creative activities without break. It has become a household name by amazing two village stays.

The first district journalist’s conference was held in Mangaluru on July 1, 2019. This is the first time in the history of the coast that KUWJ will host the state-level conference. Dharmastala Dharmadhikari Dr Veerendra Heggade released the banner of the conference and conveyed his best wishes. Dakshina Kannada district in-charge minister Kota Srinivas Poojary unveiled the website of the conference and set the preparations for the conference in motion.

Registration of members who will take part in the conference has already begun on the website. Different committees are formed for their preparation. MP Nalin Kumar Kateel, MLA D Vedavyas Kamath, Dr Bharath Shetty Y and U T Khader have joined hands for the preparations. More than 3,000 members from all the districts in the state, journalists from various states in the country and foreign journalists are expected to take part. The conference will be inaugurated by chief minister B S Yediyurappa in the presence of Dharmastala Dharmadhikari Dr D Veerendra Heggade.

Opposition leader Siddaramaiah, former chief minister H D Kumaraswamy, speaker, ministers, legends of journalism, special achievers and elite will take part.

Annual KUWJ awards will be presented to the journalists in the concluding programme. Special achiever journalists will be felicitated. A discussion forum on journalists, pros and cons of journalism and development of the coast will be held on both the days.

The news is released by Shivananda Tagadoor, KUWJ president; Jagannath Shetty Bala, executive committee member, KUWJ; Srinivas Nayak Indaje, president Dakshina Kannada district working journalists association and Ibrahim Adkastala, chief secretary, district working journalists association.


Top Stories


Title : Mangaluru: 35th conference of K'taka journalists on March 7-8


You have 2000 characters left.


Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that sending false messages to insult, defame, intimidate, mislead or deceive people or to intentionally cause public disorder is punishable under law. It is obligatory on Daijiworld to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using daijiworld will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will be held responsible.

Security Validation

Enter the characters in the image