Matrimonial |  Properties |  Jobs |  Classifieds |  Ask Doctor |  Live TV |  Sponsored Greetings |  Astrology  |   Red Chillies |  Automobile |  Music |  Tribute

      Search in

Wednesday, March 07, 2012 9:00:42 AM (IST)  

UP Voters Dethrone Mayawati, Choose Mulayam Over BJP, Congress

Lucknow, March 7 (IANS): The Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party's (BJP) hopes for a revival in India's most populous state were dashed as Uttar Pradesh's 12.73 crore voters rallied behind the Samajwadi Party's (SP) to hand it a stunning victory over Mayawati's Bahujan Samaj Party.

Winning 224 seats, the Mulayam Singh Yadav-led party is set to form the government in the state with a comfortable majority in the 403-member assembly. Its performance comes as quantum jump to 2007 when it was voted out of power and got just 97 seats.

The BSP has been literally wiped out, securing 80 wins now against its unprecedented 206 seats in 2007.

Meanwhile, the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) with 47 seats has slipped from its earlier standing of 51 seats in 2007 but then it was in alliance with the Apna Dal.

The real loser is the Congress.

Though the party fared slightly better from its 22 seat tally of 2007 by getting 28 wins, the party faced humiliation with a complete rout in Amethi and Rae Bareilly - bastions of the Gandhi family, seats which are held in the Lok Sabha by general secretary Rahul Gandhi and party chief Sonia Gandhi respectively.

With heavy gains for the SP in the two Gandhi citadels, questions are being raised on the Gandhi charisma as not only Rahul and Sonia, even Priyanka Gandhi with her two children had camped here and canvassed for Congress candidates.

The shock for the Congress did not end here as despite the Muslim sub-quota promise and other promises to the minority community, the party fared badly in almost all Muslim dominated constituencies.

In Azamgarh, where the party invoked the Batla House gunfight of Delhi, the party failed to get even one seat out of five, and was either at the third or fifth position.

In Aligarh, the seat of the prestigious Aligarh Muslim University (AMU), the SP won the city seat while the Congress was pushed to the fourth position. In Deoband, another important Muslim centre, the Congress was at the third position and saw the seat going to the Samajwadi Party.

Union Law Minister Salman Khursheed who had raised the hackles of the Election Commission (EC) by promising 18 percent sub-quota for Muslims in jobs and colleges, if the party was voted to power, even "if he was hung by the poll panel" failed to get his wife and sitting legislator Louise Khursheed win the Farrukhabad seat.

Even the BJP despite its slightly better performance this time saw its strongholds crumble in face of the SP wave.

Lucknow, always held by the BJPm saw just one seat out of the nine come to it with party veteran Kalraj Mishra winning Lucknow East. This was the first time that the BJP went to polls without the charismatic former prime minister Atal Behari Vajpayee and the losses are for all to see. The BJP could not even hold to Faizabad and Ayodhya - where the Ram Janmabhoomi movement was born and picked up pace.

Independents and other small parties who won 16 seats in the 2007 state assembly polls have managed 14 seats this time.

Stay updated wherever you go with and Daijiworld 24X7 tv channel mobile apps.
CLICK HERE to download it for your device.
(available on Android and IOS)

Print this Article
Email this article to your friend
Write your Comments
News Title UP Voters Dethrone Mayawati, Choose Mulayam Over BJP, Congress
Your Name
Native Place / Place of Residence
Your E-mail
Your Comment
[Please limit your comments within 2000 characters]

You have characters left.
Disclaimer: Please write your correct name and email address. Kindly do not post any personal, abusive, defamatory, infringing, obscene, indecent, discriminatory or unlawful or similar comments. will not be responsible for any defamatory message posted under this article.

Please note that sending false messages to insult, defame, intimidate, mislead or deceive people or to intentionally cause public disorder is punishable under law. It is obligatory on Daijiworld to provide the IP address and other details of senders of such comments, to the authority concerned upon request.

Hence, sending offensive comments using daijiworld will be purely at your own risk, and in no way will be held responsible.
Security Validation
Enter the characters in the image above
Published by Daijiworld Media Pvt Ltd Mangalore
Editor-in-chief : Walter Nandalike

Corporate Office :
Daijiworld Residency,
Airport Road, Bondel Post,
Mangalore - 575 008
Karnataka India
Telephone : +91-824-2982023
City Office :
First Floor,
Divya Deepa Arcade,
Bendorewell, Kankanady,
Mangalore - 575 002
Karnataka India
Telephone : +91-824-4259372
e-mail   General enquiry:, News & Info :

Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | About Us
Copyright ©2001 - 2016. All rights reserved.
Our Franchise Offices
Kishoo Enterprises,
3rd Floor, Mandavi Trade Centre,
Kadiyali, Udupi – 576 102
Telephone : 0091-820-4295571
e-mail :
Daijiworld Middle East FZE
P.O.Box: 84772, Dubai, UAE
Tel: 971-50-6597629  Fax: 971-4-2639207
There has been a database error. Technical Support has already been notified. You will be informed when this issue is resolved. Thank you for your patience!